We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable Disaster called Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable Disaster called Maya”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Hotel Maya in Long Beach California is a disaster of the first order. We have had the water shut off during showers and I just returned from work ran a tub of water and stepped into an ice bucket. No one knows why. I have just returned from 2 yrs of traveling, mostly 5 and 6 star resort type properties, however there were many nights in other country's where that was not the case. I have cleaner and better run properties that were barely standing. Some staff are friendly while most don't care and you can tell. They put dirty glasses in the room which we have changed again and again. We live in the area and are buying a home so we wanted some place reasonable cost wise. We are checking out will pay anything to not stay here.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback both here and in person during your stay with us. The hot water heater breaking in your building was an unfortunate incident and our engineering team had it replaced and working within two hours but certainly not a preventable or planned incident. I certainly apologize again. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and our failure to meet yours was a disappointment to us all. We will certainly review all of your feedback with our staff to determine what we could do better or differently in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    503
    201
    98
    52
See reviews for
408
515
60
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This Place is Awesome!!! Everything you could ever want right at your feet. The hotel and staff were Great. Everyone was very friendly, respectful, and helpful. Take advantage of the Breakfast buffet it was very good and the wait staff were on top of everything. The food in Resturaunt was very good. This is the BEST place I have ever stayed. The location and views are awesome. Free red bus to downtown. The pool and Spa area were very relaxing. I wish the pool bar would have been open, they would have made a fortune, LoL!!! I have already booked again for next year!!! I would reccomend this place to everyone. I agree with Freddie F, get the harbor room!!!

Room Tip: Select a Harbor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LitleJck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are so happy you loved the hotel...why did you leave? Come back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Get a harbor view room and enjoy your balcony! This comfortable hotel with nice, shady parking is perfect for relaxation. For exercise, it is on a 4 1/2 mile harbor walkway too!
Room service was ood and prompt. I had the delicious seafood creeps one day and the Ceviche trio the next evening with some leftover for breakfast. (I'd stored he leftovers in the in room fridge)
Near to the surprisingly nice downtown of Long Beach with good architecture and restaurants.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Freddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Loved the feedback! The view is breath taking and we are glad you enjoyed it along with the Food and activities in and around the hotel. Hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim hills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is a mess! I booked 9 rooms here and only 8 reservations were showing. I called Expedia to sort it all out and got my money back, but the hotel staff was rude and unfriendly. The rooms smelled like vomit or dirty feet. The towels were dirty and the bathroom wasn't clean. The bar also charged me $110 that I never signed for or authorized...I didn't even step foot into the bar! I would definitely not recommend staying here and would rather pay extra next time to stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Dont stay here...plain and simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreajung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As you booked through Expedia and paid Expedia not Hilton, those reservations come through a third party so if there is confusion or they missed it, we cant track down what happened as we dont have access to their system. I highly suggest booking directly through the hotel or hotel website on your next stay to avoid these onsite issues. We certainly strive to exceed all of our guest expectations and I apologize that we failed to do so in this case with the bar charge that was signed to your room number and name. Either one of the 9 rooms you had or someone else who knew your name, tried to pawn off their bar charges. We adjusted them off as soon as you brought them to our attention at check out. Every now and then that occurs in large groups as one of the late night partiers tries to stick their charges to an unsuspecting guest. We appreciate you staying with us during your hair show at the convention center and hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room was likely priced for the view and not the room itself. The amenities appear nice (not used this visit) and the restaurant was of excellent quality, although seemed only MX dishes available. The walls and doors seemed paper thin based on the amount of sound that came through for rooms on either side. It is easy walking distance to the Queen Mary. Staff friendly and helpful. I did not complain about the noise because it didn't appear that there was much difference in the rooms.

Room Tip: ocean view is nice, but fire pits may be noisy. Do not expect quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudybLasVegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the good comments and the feedback regarding noise. We continue to address noise issues with additional sound proofing throughout rooms and corridors but the hotel is laid out resort style with a lot of fun areas including fire pits, a beach, pool, etc and there tends to be noise as people enjoy the environment around them. We will keep working on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent Hotel. Great service from the moment we walked in! beautiful hotel, loved the hookah bar and the fire pits

great public areas great pool except for bar prices at the pool

overall great stay I would suggest this hotel to anyone.

Food was excellent at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for the great comments...seems like you had a chance to enjoy all of our fun space from the Hookah lounge to the fire pits to the restaurant and the pool with floating cabanas. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only problem that we found with the Maya was in finding it. Even the staff must agree that it's difficult to get to. Another odd thing is that they charge their guests $17 a night just to park their cars there. But that's life in the 21st Century. But I found the reception people and the restaurant staff to be very helpful and pleasant. This was a family visit and we were only there for two nights, but it's always nice in a restaurant when a senior executive comes around the tables to introduce himself and to take an interest. The service in the restaurant was very efficient, respectful and good-humoured and, of course, the food was just right. We had a slight problem, that was all my fault, but the housekeeping staff handled it perfectly professionally. The RMS Queen Mary is a major attraction nearby, and Long Beach itself is an attractive resort.

Room Tip: Every room has a balcony; some have a good view of the Queen Mary, some do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Glad to hear your famnily enjoyed their stay with us. Most of the staf f has been here awhile and they are very proud and happy to work here and it shows. We hope to see you back here with the family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing