We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Review, But Better Than Never”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late Review, But Better Than Never”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Maya January 2011, and it was amazing. I loved every aspect of it. I was there for the Long Beach ISSE show for cosmetology, and I was just wowed by the entire place. It was my first Doubletree hotel, and it made a huge impact on me. I loved the staff, the hotel, the local cuisine, everything. I didn't dine on site, but I took a leisurely stroll over to Reef, and I was so impressed by the whole setup. :) I'm trying to plan a 1 year wedding anniversary trip for my husband and I coming up in March, and I am really excited to say that I'm planning on coming here! :) The little "town" thing across the street was cute, but it was empty, nobody in any of the shops when I went at about 4pm. A little strange, but the hotel, so impressive! Hoping I can get a good deal on our upcoming stay..

Room Tip: I loved the downstairs room with the view of the water. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellemenopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for the review...better late than never. We will take good care of you when you are back!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    502
    201
    98
    52
See reviews for
406
514
60
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We chose this hotel as we were in Long Beach for 1 night to attend a function a the nearby QM. We could not have made a better choice. The hotel is situated on the water, and takes a little to get to, but nothing terrible. The approach and lobby are great, very cool lighting and design. Greeted warmly by the desk clerk by name and checked in immediately. Warm cookies are always nice! Using points, did not expect much and was pleasantly surprised by the room. Over sized and situated on the 4th floor in building 1, we had an amazing view of the harbor and the Long beach skyline. Room itself was large and well appointed. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but was set up nicely. Be warned, the door is a sliding door, so does not shut entirely, but was fine. Closet did not have a door nor closure, so as you walk into the room, you do see the hangars and clothes. Looking closer, the room could use a little bit of a refresh (carpet looked a tad tired). But-these are so minor. Really enjoyed our stay, wish it would have been longer. Will be back to the Maya for any styas in LB. Staff was great, room was fantastic. As we walked to the Queen Mary (they offered to drive us, but is less than a 10 minutes walk along the waterside path), saw the pool area and hotel 'beach'. Looked great!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We wish you stayed longer too!!!!! come back and make sure you get to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi and the fire pits on our new beach. Thanks for the comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

What can I say about Maya? I stayed a week here with my son, mainly because I got a great deal. The room had a view of the harbor and downtown Long Beach but it was on the second floor and the view was a little cut off so we couldnt see the Queen Mary off in the distance. The hotel has a nice bar called Fuego and you can tell my the decor that HIlton took over a smaller hotel and is trying to upgrade. It's a nice theme so my grading on it really should be incomplete at the moment. The service was good, the staff friendly. What I didnt like was walking into our room and being hit in the face with a musty type smell. The room itself looked almost completely renovated except for that rug, which looked old and dated and probably contributed to the musty smell. Could probably use a little more drawer space but then again, I always overpack. The complimentary wi-fi was great. However, I probably wouldve preferred to stay a little closer to LA. We're about 30 miles away from anything worthwhile in any direction, be it LA, Disney, Universal so unless you're specifically in the area to see Long Beach, or here for a convention or a short trip, I'd probably stay elsewhere. I reserve final judgement on the hotel in lieu of completed renovations. Im assuming of course, that they will be completing renovations because it would be weird leaving it the way it is now, particularly with that carpet. I think once they do that, I could upgrade to 4 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paristyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for the feedback and certainly glad you liked most of the hotel. The carpets are actually only 3 years old and we just deep cleaned all carpets and furntiure in the rooms with our annual deep cleaning....This is handled by an outside company and the smell might have been caused by the deep cleaning and chemicals we use to clean the carpets. It typically needs to air out after being cleaned. I will check to make sure they are airing out the rooms. Hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Each and EVERY time I walk into the Maya, I feel that I've entered a South American 007 set - the BEST ROOMS EVER! The staff is absolutely PERFECT! Harim, Vessie, Deanna, room service, housekeeping - ALL SPECTACULAR!

Room Tip: Ask for the towers which are to the left (when facing it) of the check-in location. Eat at the EXCE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for the great comments...will pass along to staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mismaloya, Mexico
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Anywhere close to Long Beach, I stay here! Very consistent in service, cleanliness and an enjoyable stay. Furnishings could use a refinishing or just replace them, but it never deters me from staying.
You have complete privacy on the balconies due to the angled architecture. Water view rooms are the best, but if you want to save a little, you will be find with garden view rooms. Roam the grounds, as they have created great spaces for you to hang out. Everywhere you go, there is another relaxing area to kick back. In my opinion, the atmosphere blends morrocan with tropical. Fire pits, lounging couches and chairs everywhere. Pool is great with the so called floating cabanas/double lounger.
They aren't floating but it appears that way. Gaze across the bay to downtown Long Beach or over to the Queen Mary. Occasionally you will see a Carnival Ship docked next to QM.
No resort charges, but do expect 17.00 a day for parking. Very comfortable, safe and enjoyable area and hotel. We just had our Company Christmas Party here. Food and service was impeccable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms really do feel more private on the balcony. Certain buildings and there are 4, have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrynkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Welcome back! We are so glad to hear you had another great stay with us and a fun holiday party. Thanks for the comments. We look forward to your next stay with us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Maya for a conference at the convention center. We took the supershuttle from the airport. I think it was $15 per person one way with a AAA discount or conference discount. They dropped us off at our hotel.

We were upgraded to a room overlooking the water and downtown LB. Because of Hilton Gold, we were given free breakfast. Make sure your breakfast coupons state that it is for two people! We were asked every single day at breakfast. This did not sour my taste of the hotel b/c the breakfast was AMAZING! The view over the water was AMAZING! The staff were great as well!

Our hotel room was pretty big for US standards. Not sure about all of the rooms. The room had a Mayan theme and that was an adventure in a great way! Unique colors and designs. We had a little balcony with two yellow chairs. The entry door into main hotel was really cool. There is not much to the business center (two computers out in the open and a printer), but it is practical. The gym is nice and the front desk usually has fruit flavored water (very creative). Even though it was chilly outside, we went in the hot tub once by the pool and it was really hot, but neat since you can see the LB skyline.

You are walking distance to the famed, Queen Mary ship. Did not go in it, but looked pretty cool. There is a brand new ice skating rink that just opened next to the Queen Mary.

The Hotel Maya has a free bus that runs about every 15-20 minutes next to it that takes you into downtown LB (by the convention center, Bubba Gumps, etc). If this was not here and free, the Hotel Maya would not be an option b/c you realistically can't walk to downtown from the hotel. The free bus also takes you to the blue rail line which takes you into downtown LA. Very convenient, but keep in mind the blue line is going through Compton and other not great areas, so be alert. The ride is about 40 minutes from LB to 7th Street/Metro Center. The stop right before that is the Staples Center if you wanted to see a Lakers game. Also on the free bus line in LB is a Walmart if you need food/items. Not far. I walked to it from the convention center in downtown LB in 10 minutes.

Overall, this is a very fun hotel! I would recommend it! Questions, ask me!

Room Tip: Sign up for a Hilton credit card to get gold status for free breakfast HERE!! Otherwise, breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback and detailed comments. I think you hit many of our key selling points right on the head....I should have you handle our marketing as well. :) We are so glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We didn't really like our stay here. The hotel is rather difficult to find. We used a few different apps on our phone and none of them worked for us. We found cutting through the Queen Mary parking lot easiest, but a hassle. Our room was a good size and had a private balcony with two chairs, but no view. The room had an odd sliding door to the bathroom that did not provide complete privacy. Parking was expensive. Charging guests to park is uncalled for, but I guess that is California for you. There was quite a bit of hair in our bathroom, and there was leftover food in our mini-fridge. The playa areas were nice, and so was the pool, hot tub, and cabana area. The hotel was on the Long Beach Passport line which is a free bus to downtown. Next trip to LB, I would probably stay downtown instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cappy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for the comments. As we are located in the port, people do occasionally have trouble finding us. With the current port construction there are often delays and detours which can make it difficult. I certainly apologize and hope you give us another try when the roads are clear. You mentioned a lack of view so you must have had a garden view instead of a waterview. As we are located on the water with a spectacular view of Downtown, you really need to request or upgrade to a wateview to fully enjoy all we have to offer. Many love the fact that we are downtown but just across the water on the free bus line. We are close to it all but far enough away to be relaxing and fell like you are getting away. Hope to see you back with us in a waterview room next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing