We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS LOOK FORWARD TO A HOTEL MAYA STAY !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Anywhere close to Long Beach, I stay here! Very consistent in service, cleanliness and an enjoyable stay. Furnishings could use a refinishing or just replace them, but it never deters me from staying.
You have complete privacy on the balconies due to the angled architecture. Water view rooms are the best, but if you want to save a little, you will be find with garden view rooms. Roam the grounds, as they have created great spaces for you to hang out. Everywhere you go, there is another relaxing area to kick back. In my opinion, the atmosphere blends morrocan with tropical. Fire pits, lounging couches and chairs everywhere. Pool is great with the so called floating cabanas/double lounger.
They aren't floating but it appears that way. Gaze across the bay to downtown Long Beach or over to the Queen Mary. Occasionally you will see a Carnival Ship docked next to QM.
No resort charges, but do expect 17.00 a day for parking. Very comfortable, safe and enjoyable area and hotel. We just had our Company Christmas Party here. Food and service was impeccable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms really do feel more private on the balcony. Certain buildings and there are 4, have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrynkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Welcome back! We are so glad to hear you had another great stay with us and a fun holiday party. Thanks for the comments. We look forward to your next stay with us. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Maya for a conference at the convention center. We took the supershuttle from the airport. I think it was $15 per person one way with a AAA discount or conference discount. They dropped us off at our hotel.

We were upgraded to a room overlooking the water and downtown LB. Because of Hilton Gold, we were given free breakfast. Make sure your breakfast coupons state that it is for two people! We were asked every single day at breakfast. This did not sour my taste of the hotel b/c the breakfast was AMAZING! The view over the water was AMAZING! The staff were great as well!

Our hotel room was pretty big for US standards. Not sure about all of the rooms. The room had a Mayan theme and that was an adventure in a great way! Unique colors and designs. We had a little balcony with two yellow chairs. The entry door into main hotel was really cool. There is not much to the business center (two computers out in the open and a printer), but it is practical. The gym is nice and the front desk usually has fruit flavored water (very creative). Even though it was chilly outside, we went in the hot tub once by the pool and it was really hot, but neat since you can see the LB skyline.

You are walking distance to the famed, Queen Mary ship. Did not go in it, but looked pretty cool. There is a brand new ice skating rink that just opened next to the Queen Mary.

The Hotel Maya has a free bus that runs about every 15-20 minutes next to it that takes you into downtown LB (by the convention center, Bubba Gumps, etc). If this was not here and free, the Hotel Maya would not be an option b/c you realistically can't walk to downtown from the hotel. The free bus also takes you to the blue rail line which takes you into downtown LA. Very convenient, but keep in mind the blue line is going through Compton and other not great areas, so be alert. The ride is about 40 minutes from LB to 7th Street/Metro Center. The stop right before that is the Staples Center if you wanted to see a Lakers game. Also on the free bus line in LB is a Walmart if you need food/items. Not far. I walked to it from the convention center in downtown LB in 10 minutes.

Overall, this is a very fun hotel! I would recommend it! Questions, ask me!

Room Tip: Sign up for a Hilton credit card to get gold status for free breakfast HERE!! Otherwise, breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thanks for the great feedback and detailed comments. I think you hit many of our key selling points right on the head....I should have you handle our marketing as well. :) We are so glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We didn't really like our stay here. The hotel is rather difficult to find. We used a few different apps on our phone and none of them worked for us. We found cutting through the Queen Mary parking lot easiest, but a hassle. Our room was a good size and had a private balcony with two chairs, but no view. The room had an odd sliding door to the bathroom that did not provide complete privacy. Parking was expensive. Charging guests to park is uncalled for, but I guess that is California for you. There was quite a bit of hair in our bathroom, and there was leftover food in our mini-fridge. The playa areas were nice, and so was the pool, hot tub, and cabana area. The hotel was on the Long Beach Passport line which is a free bus to downtown. Next trip to LB, I would probably stay downtown instead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cappy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for the comments. As we are located in the port, people do occasionally have trouble finding us. With the current port construction there are often delays and detours which can make it difficult. I certainly apologize and hope you give us another try when the roads are clear. You mentioned a lack of view so you must have had a garden view instead of a waterview. As we are located on the water with a spectacular view of Downtown, you really need to request or upgrade to a wateview to fully enjoy all we have to offer. Many love the fact that we are downtown but just across the water on the free bus line. We are close to it all but far enough away to be relaxing and fell like you are getting away. Hope to see you back with us in a waterview room next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed several nights at the Hotel Maya. It was quite rainy and dark most of the time; however on our last day the sun was shinning and the bright light divulged a dirty little secret. There was mold all over the wall paper throughout the room. Interestingly enough the two rooms adjacent to ours had dryer fans blowing and the door to the room was left open throught out the night. Clearly there is a water damage issue at this hotel. It is a very unhealthy place to spend your vaction.
I would be hard pressed to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thanks you for your comments. Unfortunatelyy you were there over recent dates when a guest left their bathtub on and left the room. It flooded their room and several rooms below thus the reason the blowers were on and going. This is obviously not a normal occurance and either we hadnt discovered the damage in your room or we were waiting for you to check out before we tore up the room to address. If you email me direclty at kristi.allen@hilton.com to tell me your room number or last name, I would be more than happy to research. I would like to ensure that we did in fact see this damage in your room as well and address. Thanks for letting us know and we hope you don't hold another guest's mistake against us. Please come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was out first trip to the states. After an 11 hour trip from the UK we were very tired and was in need of a good night's sleep. When we got to the room we were pleasantly surprised the rooms were clean. However what we weren't expecting was to be kept awake all night by the port next to our block off loading the ships all night. It was very noisy and we got no sleep. The next morning we found some ear plugs !!We were going to ask for a room change but we were just to shattered to move our stuff.

This spoilt our first few days in LA. However the hotel was pleasant and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: If you are allocated block 4 ask to change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blonndemadwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry the sounds of the port kept you up after a long day of travel but glad despite it all you still found the hotel and staff pleasant. Some guests love that building due to proximity to the pool but others do mention it is too close to the port. On your next trip, please let us know what building you prefer and we will make sure it happens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Aside from finding your room for the first time, this hotel is in a very neat location right on the water, and the rooms are huge and very comfortable. Not cheap, but not run of the mill, either. The breakfast buffet is pricey, but complete and the open-air dining room is hard to beat. The after-hours ambiance of the bar and hookah lounge are really nice, and if you are sitting by the fire pit, overlooking the water, it is hard to beat. The occasional blast of the Queen Mary's fog horn or other nearby departing cruise ships can be startling, but, look, that's part of the locale, right? I stayed there for a few nights for business meetings in Long Beach and felt like I was cheating the company by staying at a posh resort! The worst part of the stay? The inane parking lot gate. It never reads your ticket right, and the line of cars waiting to get out just adds to the misery. I never got out without pushing the service button and begging for help. All at a very high parking charge, too!

Room Tip: Bottom floor with a patio overlooking the water would be my first choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnAceBuyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for the great comments about the waterfront location, fuego and the fire pits. We agree that the location and feel cant be beat. Sorry to hear about the parking and we will definitely look into it. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family and I stayed the night at this hotel to make a pit stop between our trip from San Diego to San Francisco.
The hotel was clean. Be sure to ask for some cookie. yes, its a doubletree hotel.

Though we didn't get to use the recreation center, but the swimming pool and bar area looks very well decored and cool!

The hotel itself is really close tot the Queen Mary ship, in case you want to do a quick tour.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool or ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SautS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for the quick comments and quick stay...We are glad you liked it but hope you come back to stay a bit longer next time so you can enjoy the pool and beach areas. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,494 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $199 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing