We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
columbus GA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night while waiting to go on a cruise. Price was right and is in walking distance to queen mary and the sub. Dinner was a bit pricey but worth it and if you get thw chance tey the pomegranite mohito. Overalll i would def stay here again if i had the chance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allaroundtheworld874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Love the pomegranite mojito as well...glad you liked it. We are a perfect stop for our pre or post cruise guests. We are so glad you loved it and hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    518
    213
    100
    53
See reviews for
439
536
63
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bebington, New Ferry
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here in April 2012 best hotel with great views of QM2 and Long Beach. especially enjoyed the fire pits at night and hot tub during the day.
We didnt eat in the resturant that often save one breakfast but ordered room service a fair bit the service was great, and food great quality.
Althought the hotel was slightly out of Long Beach there was a great free Shuttle Service and we used this often.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandNibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Great to hear! Thanks for taking the time to comment and we are glad you liked it. The firepits on the beach are my favorite feature of the hotel...next time get a smore kit from the gift shop and roast smores. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

During a trip to Southern California recently, my fiance and I stayed at the Hotel Maya in a waterfront room with a balcony for three nights. Overall, it was fantastic. It was definitely worth the extra cost to get a waterfront room with balcony, because the views were beautiful. The bed was wonderful, and the decor in the rooms was awesome. We loved that it's unconventional and not the same as every other hotel. The bathroom was a bit small, however, and the air conditioner was old and a bit noisy, although it did work perfectly. The service from the front desk was excellent during check in and any time we spoke to them. Definitely would stay there again!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for a balcony waterfront room above first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mthomas200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are so happy you thought it was fantastic and had fun with your fiance. We would love for you all to come back and get married here or spend your honeymoon here...it is the perfect couples retreat. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A group of five of us stayed one night pre-cruise in 3 different rooms. Three of us have stayed her several times before (as the Maya and previously as the Coast). The front desk is friendly and somewhat accommodating. We arrived about 2:30 (check-in is 3:00). Our friends were able to get their room, but ours wasn't quite ready, and we were told to return at 3:00. We all went to the bar and returned at 3:00, room still not ready, told to return at 3:30 (most hotels would give you a free drink having to wait past their advertised time, but they didn't, they did offer an extra cookie tho). At 3:30 we were able to get into our room, nice big room with a king bed, couch area, and balcony. Unfortunately, the balcony was on the 2nd floor as close to one side of the outdoor restaurant/bar area and the hookah lounge as a room could be. Having been here several time before and having little sleep because of the noise, we knew this would be one of those nights. It was unusually warm in Long Beach and we had the a/c on (which blocks some of the noise), but it sure didn't cool the room down, so by 3:00 a.m. we had to open the slider to let in the cooler night air, which helped the temperature, but sure didn't help the noise level. We were told at check-in that they were having 4 weddings and a birthday party that day, oh boy. The hotel is also set up in 4 different buildings that have outdoor room doors on an open atrium that is also very noisy at night, every voice, laugh, door slam echos thru the whole atrium and into every room. After a little happy hour in our room, we walked over to the Queen Mary for dinner. When we returned we joined the revelry at the bar sitting outside just below our room. The hotel location is very nice and very convenient for a pre-cruise stay, but the noise level is a problem most times. We did notice that they provide ear plugs in the nightstand, so it's certainly a known problem. The hotel was very clean and we will stay there again, since we have the appropriate expectations, and they have a great pre-cruise/parking package.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the bar/restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for your multiple stays here at the Maya. We are aware that the set up of the buildings can add to the noise level so we recently installed door closers on all guest room doors to stop the slamming and are inthe process on testing different corridor hallway solutions to dampen the sounds. We cant always control other guests but we can control the environment. We are working on it! I am glad you like Fuego and enjoyed some cocktails there as well....there is no better place to view the skyline and beautiful waterfront setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location of this hotel is very nice: Walking distance from the Queen Mary and the Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific, as well as many restaurants and, biking distance to many popular Long Beach cafes. There are a number of nice features to the Maya, including a romantic outdoor fire pit area overlooking the water, with views of oceanfront restaurants, a small marina, and the Queen Mary. Other nice features are a warm chocolate chip cookie when you sign in, a sand volleyball court, two tennis courts, a public walking path along the water, and a restaurant and lounge areas that appear comfortable and casual.

Sadly, this hotel is a bit of a faded rose. The room we had was clean, but didn't appear to have been used or dusted in a long time. While some rooms have sliding doors that open onto small patios, upgrades to these rooms aren't complimentary and do cost more. As for the other rooms, many do not have views (some actually look straight at the opposite walls of the hotel) and none of the non-patio/balcony rooms have windows that open. The regular rooms are equipped with old air conditioners that are noisy and need to be run all night, as the rooms get very humid (so close to the water) and stuffy. If you can sleep with earplugs, bring them. You will need them.

After a quirky start, we found maintenance was very attentive. Our TV had a loose plug in back. Signing into the internet only worked with Explorer (not Firefox). Maintenance did come to solve these problems soon after we called. Actually, we found the loose plug ourselves, but maintenance came with a fresh remote and gave that to us so we'd have a good battery regardless.

While walking distance to other attractions and many Long Beach restaurants was a real plus, the public walking area near the Maya hotel, by the water, was a bit dirty, with debris washing up around the rocks that bordered the walkway. There were also several stray cats hanging out around fisher-folk here and there (we counted seven on one morning walk)--messy and smelly. Some of the feral cats appeared sick or injured and needed medical attention. This will be sad and upsetting to some patrons who connect with and care about critters.

Overall, this is an okay place to stay on business--if you can wear earplugs. We also noticed folks using the Maya as a rest stop between visits to other Long Beach attractions. If the ambiance in your room doesn't matter because you're not going to spend much time there anyway, the regular rooms are okay. If you want to relax and enjoy when you're not working or between tourist attractions, book one of the premium rooms with a view and windows you can safely open at night.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. Pay for the room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed comments. As we are a waterfront resort style location, I would agree that the waterfront rooms with balconies make a difference. We appreciate the feedback and are glad you found us centrally located. Many international travelers stay with us as we are a perfect spot to explore Disney, LA and orange county as we are right in the middle. In Long Beach itself, we are right between our two major attractions, The Queen Mary and the aquarium of the Pacific. Hope to see you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Awesome view from room. Great package deal. THANK YOU FOR THE UPGRADE!!! Overall hands down awesome experince!!! We enjoyed ourselves!!! Thanks you!!! Will definatly stay and recomend Hotel Maya. AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dspan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We are so happy you loved the upgade and your stay here. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently booked the hotel Maya due to its location tot he Port of Long Beach. A Double Tree Hotel so we expected much more than we recieved.

Upon arrival at 4 pm our room was still not ready (strike one), so we were instructed to go to the bar and wait. We lugged our luggage with us up stairs into the bar, since the bell man was not available either (strike two). We sat and ordered drinks. The restuarant wait staff was all bunched up chatting away and provided no service. The Hostess actually had to come oer to get our drink order. We waited about 40 minutes before being called for our room.

THe room was older, but had a great view of the bay. The room was a loft style with a casual living area downstairs and a queen size bed upstairs. We noticed the room was hot since the maid did nto leave the A/C on. We turned it on and then went for dinner. Gone about two hours. We we got back it was 11 pm, so we headed up tot he loft. The loft was still about 95 degrees. No matter what we did the loft would not cool down and we were fored to make up sleeping on the couches. In the Am when we checked out we complained about the room and all we got was a "sorry this happened" and then they proceeded to charge me a premium rate for the loft room. Further compalint about the bill did not get anything changed.

Point of this story is that regardless of hwo nice the view is, paying a premium rate for an older room wit rather no working A/C is never worth it. Being a Hilton rewards member, this will not be forgotten anytime soon.

Room Tip: Do not pick the loft room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbogs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for our feedback in regards to your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and would love to talk further with you. The loft is one of our two premium suites and we will look into the AC unit immediately though have not heard andthing negative about that room in the past. Please contact me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I may ask you a few questions about your stay and follow up. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,249 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing