We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$287
$269
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
$134
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
$183
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Of Long Beach(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Queen Mary(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
$142
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel(Long Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$159
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$283
$254
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveler rating
897
557
236
105
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
557
236
105
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfuego restaurantwarm cookiesdouble treequeen marywater viewfire pitdowntown long beachbeautiful hotelwater taxifree shuttlepre cruiseacross the bridgecarnival cruisehotel restaurantupon checkdowntown areashoreline village
Filter
Updating list...
1,540 - 1,545 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location of this hotel is very nice: Walking distance from the Queen Mary and the Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific, as well as many restaurants and, biking distance to many popular Long Beach cafes. There are a number of nice features to the Maya, including a romantic outdoor fire pit area overlooking the water, with views of oceanfront restaurants, a small marina, and the Queen Mary. Other nice features are a warm chocolate chip cookie when you sign in, a sand volleyball court, two tennis courts, a public walking path along the water, and a restaurant and lounge areas that appear comfortable and casual.

Sadly, this hotel is a bit of a faded rose. The room we had was clean, but didn't appear to have been used or dusted in a long time. While some rooms have sliding doors that open onto small patios, upgrades to these rooms aren't complimentary and do cost more. As for the other rooms, many do not have views (some actually look straight at the opposite walls of the hotel) and none of the non-patio/balcony rooms have windows that open. The regular rooms are equipped with old air conditioners that are noisy and need to be run all night, as the rooms get very humid (so close to the water) and stuffy. If you can sleep with earplugs, bring them. You will need them.

After a quirky start, we found maintenance was very attentive. Our TV had a loose plug in back. Signing into the internet only worked with Explorer (not Firefox). Maintenance did come to solve these problems soon after we called. Actually, we found the loose plug ourselves, but maintenance came with a fresh remote and gave that to us so we'd have a good battery regardless.

While walking distance to other attractions and many Long Beach restaurants was a real plus, the public walking area near the Maya hotel, by the water, was a bit dirty, with debris washing up around the rocks that bordered the walkway. There were also several stray cats hanging out around fisher-folk here and there (we counted seven on one morning walk)--messy and smelly. Some of the feral cats appeared sick or injured and needed medical attention. This will be sad and upsetting to some patrons who connect with and care about critters.

Overall, this is an okay place to stay on business--if you can wear earplugs. We also noticed folks using the Maya as a rest stop between visits to other Long Beach attractions. If the ambiance in your room doesn't matter because you're not going to spend much time there anyway, the regular rooms are okay. If you want to relax and enjoy when you're not working or between tourist attractions, book one of the premium rooms with a view and windows you can safely open at night.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. Pay for the room upgrade.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for the very detailed comments. As we are a waterfront resort style location, I would agree that the waterfront rooms with balconies make a difference. We appreciate the feedback and are glad you found us centrally located. Many international travelers stay with us as we are a perfect spot to explore Disney, LA and orange county as we are right in the middle. In Long Beach itself, we are right between our two major attractions, The Queen Mary and the aquarium of the Pacific. Hope to see you again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Awesome view from room. Great package deal. THANK YOU FOR THE UPGRADE!!! Overall hands down awesome experince!!! We enjoyed ourselves!!! Thanks you!!! Will definatly stay and recomend Hotel Maya. AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dspan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

We are so happy you loved the upgade and your stay here. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently booked the hotel Maya due to its location tot he Port of Long Beach. A Double Tree Hotel so we expected much more than we recieved.

Upon arrival at 4 pm our room was still not ready (strike one), so we were instructed to go to the bar and wait. We lugged our luggage with us up stairs into the bar, since the bell man was not available either (strike two). We sat and ordered drinks. The restuarant wait staff was all bunched up chatting away and provided no service. The Hostess actually had to come oer to get our drink order. We waited about 40 minutes before being called for our room.

THe room was older, but had a great view of the bay. The room was a loft style with a casual living area downstairs and a queen size bed upstairs. We noticed the room was hot since the maid did nto leave the A/C on. We turned it on and then went for dinner. Gone about two hours. We we got back it was 11 pm, so we headed up tot he loft. The loft was still about 95 degrees. No matter what we did the loft would not cool down and we were fored to make up sleeping on the couches. In the Am when we checked out we complained about the room and all we got was a "sorry this happened" and then they proceeded to charge me a premium rate for the loft room. Further compalint about the bill did not get anything changed.

Point of this story is that regardless of hwo nice the view is, paying a premium rate for an older room wit rather no working A/C is never worth it. Being a Hilton rewards member, this will not be forgotten anytime soon.

Room Tip: Do not pick the loft room!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbogs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for our feedback in regards to your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and would love to talk further with you. The loft is one of our two premium suites and we will look into the AC unit immediately though have not heard andthing negative about that room in the past. Please contact me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I may ask you a few questions about your stay and follow up. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely situation although many rooms, including ours only has a sea view if you are prepared to hang out on the balcony . Some rooms do not have a balcony. Friendly, helpful staff and cleanish rooms with a comfortable bed.Free WiFi and safe. Dining room has excellent views with adequate food. Breakfast OK. Free shuttle bus passes nearby which is very convenient. Definitely worth a visit especially if you can ensure that you have a balcony which faces the sea.

Room Tip: Ensure room has abalcony with a view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thanks for the great comments...we agree that with our waterfront location, the rooms with the balconies facing the water are a must! They are beautiful. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is different. it is an older hotel,the rooms are so-so,its spread out-nothing around-breakfast is only buffet-they do a lot of weddings,so unless you are there for a wedding I would not stay there-the hotel staff is wonderful however. There is a water taxi that takes you to the water front on the other side for a $1

Room Tip: light comes in the room in the morning,pick a room on the other side
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atraveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks for the comments. We do have hundreds of weddings here due to our lovely waterfront setting but we have plenty of room for all of our guests. I am not sure why you thought Fuego was buffet only has we have a full ala carte menu offered daily for all meal periods in addition to our breakfast buffet daily. You will have to come back and try it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews