We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Concierge Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Concierge Service”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Maya for a second time in two months and I left a bed pillow at the hotel. I did not realize it untill I got home. I called the hotel and spoke to the concierge. He found the pillow and mailed it back to me free of charge. I was so pleased I wanted to thank the hotel and let them know they have a wonderful conceirge who went out of his way to please his guests. We enjoyed the hotel very much and would highly recommend The Hotel Maya. Thanks again, it is the little things that make a difference!!!

Sincerely, Liz Cohen

Room Tip: The hotel has a fantastic location and view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thanks for the great comments and letting me know. I am happy you got your pillow back. I will definitely pass this on to the concierge staff. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    503
    201
    98
    52
See reviews for
408
515
60
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The service is great, everyone is came in contact with from the valet on up, were very polite and helpful.
The hotel itself seems to be recently decorated but still gives that "this building has been here for a long time" feel.
The elevator is small and slow, and the hallways are in need of some refreshing. I understand that being on the water front is harsh on exteriors so I will say it seems like they are making an attempt to keep up with mother nature, and are probably doing as well as any hotel in the area.
My room was on the 5th floor and has a nice vaulted ceiling that makes it feel a little extra roomy. The bathroom is a little small, but nicely decorated. I also like my little balcony from which I can enjoy my morning coffee.
You can't beat the location if you want to see the Queen Mary and/or visit the Pike. Although if your primary destination is the Pike then the Hyatt across the water may be a better bet. They do have a shuttle that goes back and forth to the Pike. You can also walk across the bridge, or pay about $12 for a cab.
We did not try the restaurant, or the bar but both looked nice and modern. This is a "nice " hotel, but as the title states, what you are really paying for is the water front location, that all rooms do not necessarily enjoy . If you come here with that in mind, you will have a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadioM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thanks for the great comments as you perfectly summarized this hotel and our location. I love the higher floor rooms with the vaulted ceilings though many prefer the first floor rooms os they can walk out to the beach and grassy areas. We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a complete disaster! Paid for a waterfront room and was not given one. When I went to ask for a different room the front desk manager (Fransico) said that he would give me a new room not because I had paid for a waterfront room, but because he was Hispanic and knew what it was like to be with Mexicans! Wow- yes I am caucasian and was traveling with my family who happens to be Mexican. I have never been disrespected like this in my life! I checked in and out of this hotel in less than two hours!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments though Francisco who is hispanic is not our front office manager. I have already spoken with your girlfriend last week about the incident and reviewed our security cameras and the interaction. You may want to talk to her. Hotel Maya is a non discriminatory hotel and discrimination of any kind is against company policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at Maya hotel for three nights on a business trip.

I found the area rather nice - although there's not much to do right around the hotel, you'll need to drive or taxi do to something out of the hotel.
And, for me who works from northern L.A everyday, the location turned out not so convenient, adding miles of traffic to my commute.

The hotel itself is great looking, very nice atmosphere with the decoration. The view over the harbor at the restaurant is great.
My room was in building #2, on the 4th floor, with a balcony and a view on the inner patio.
Room was large, clean, everything worked fine, no complaint whatsoever about that.
Maybe a little noise from people in the patio at night, after they've had a few drinks...

The downside for me was about the food and service.
I ate at the restaurant one night, had food delivered to my room another one.
Nothing was really good, and I found everything pretty much overpriced. I'm not sure I was served fresh food / products cooked on premises.
Same applies for breakfast. $20 for the buffet + tax and service comes out way too much for what it is. So I only had breakfast there one morning.

In terms of service, I found the front desk staff nice and helpful generally speaking.
>service at the restaurant was bad; the waiter wasn't very nice, I got my main course two minutes after getting my starter (probably a sign that food ain't prepared on request, only microwaved), and got the check before my dessert.
>I requested a call to advise when my luggage was delivered to the hotel (had been lost by the airline), but never received a call.

Overall, the place is nice, if you are to stay in the area.
All the extras (breakfast, restaurant, etc) are not worth the extra money in my opinion. These should be either cheaper, or better.

With some improvements on food and service, it could be an really cool place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you thought the hotel was great but more concerned about fuego and your food comments. We have an amazing chef and get all kinds of great food reviews and pride ourselves on making everything fresh from our chips to our homemade salsas. I assure you that we do not microwave our food. i would like you to contact me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so I can further research your specific orders and address any issues there. I look ofrward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Better than The downtown Hilton, Westin, Queen Mary, Travelodge. Rhodeway Inn, Days Inn. I have stayed at those hotels and I thought this one was one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was very clean and smelled great. Nicely decorated and the view was beautiful. The pool is a little small, but good size for what long beach has to offer. Perfect hotel to chill out at.

Room Tip: Block 1 with city/water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimbonilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We are so happy you liked it. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

this may be obvious, but don't book the romance package. The hotel is fun and beautiful, but the romance package is a rip off and the included breakfast buffet they force you to have is disgusting. save the money, just book the room and bring your own romance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittytect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
With our waterfront views, private cabanas, fire pits and Fuego restaurant, we typically provide the most romantic spot in Long Beach. Please email me directly at kristi.allen@hilton.com so we can discuss what you didnt like about the romance package in detail. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

$17 Daily Parking fee left a bad taste in my mouth for an otherwise pretty nice hotel. Great beds, location, HD TV and HD programming. Nice views. When you agree on a price and then show up and they tell you there is a $17 daily parking fee you feel like they are just ripping you off. What are you supposed to do at that point? - leave? Parking should be included in the price. The hotels that sneak in parking, resort, and facility fees make me feel like the whole time I stay that they are slimy, greedy people trying to steal every little penny they can from me. That is not to mention the room service where there is a $3 room service charge, they include gratuity and then they put another line on the receipt for an additional tip. Three tips all on one meal. It is ridiculous. Pretty soon there will be a breathing and walking fee.
The air conditioner was also the oldest, loudest AC I have ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyflying2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed all but the parking fee. Unfortunately we have grappled with how to charge the parking fee and it is a no win situation. All of the hotels in Long Beach charge for parking on top of their room rates. If we add parking into our rate, than we will have the highest rate and fewer people will stay with us. Thus we leave it as an add on to be competitive in the market but we list it on every website and post it at the entrance to our lot. As we are next to the Queen Mary and very close to the cruise terminal, many people try to park in our lot and we often fill up. If we made it free, we would have no parking avaialble at all for guests. I too dislike parking charges however most cities like ours charge as parking is at a premium especially along the waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing