We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely unique hotel in a fabulous location over looking the ocean and Marina and minutes from the cruise pier.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely unique hotel in a fabulous location over looking the ocean and Marina and minutes from the cruise pier.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A very unique hotel with rooms that are comfortable and clean. We had a Marina view room with a balcony and it was definitely worth the extra cost as the view was spectacular. We stayed for a night prior to our cruise and walked the beautiful grounds and over to the Queen Mary. We chose the stay and park rate which allowed us to leave the car at their propert while we were on our cruise. The shuttle service they offered was terrific. Very fast drop off and pick up. We would definitely return to this hotel. No complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a balcony overlooking the Marina. It is such a beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for your great comments. We love all our our cruise guests, we just wish you would stay longer! One night is not enough to enjoy all of the resort from the pool and beach to the bocce ball and tennis courts on the awter. Come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    473
    189
    93
    51
See reviews for
383
483
57
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good news first. Another wonderful DoubleTree hotel. Staff were on point down to the smiling doorman and helpful bar staff in restaurant with my food to go order. Beautiful hotel, modern decor and not the fake modern decor you can buy at Ikea, but nice thoughtful pieces strewn throughout the grounds. Fire pits to eat around at the restaurant for the chilly evenings on the water... that's boss. Amenities in room were nice. Marble bathrooms. Had a king suite on 4th floor overlooking Long Beach. Very nice. But...

No DVD player... serious? Didn't understand that one. It took me like 20 mins, like 12 Uturns and 4 trips across the bridge near the hotel until I broke the code for getting to the hotel. And that's with a GPS. That was excruciating. And then a $17 per night parking fee in a large parking lot that can easily hold max capacity with room left over; and in addition, there were signs as you drive in saying "Park at your own risk..." Extremely ominous, especially since I'm paying thru the nose XTRA just to park there. At least if they're gonna charge me, man up and protect my car. But the concierge was very nice and smiled when she told me not to worry about it, to just use my room key to get in and out of the lot and she'd happily charge it to my room : )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjamin800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for your great comments and feedback. There is a lot of one of a kind artwork around the hotel and it is a very unique hotel and we appreciate that you noticed along with our great staff. In our guest rooms we have ipod docking stereos because that is what most people travel with these days so I am confused by that comment, As far as our parking charges, we are competitive in Long Beach with all of the other hotels including the Residence Inn next door. I have heard it is frustrating to use a GPS to get here as it often says you are here when you are crossing the bridge however we would never want to give up our beautiful waterfront location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very hip. It has a nice feel to it, great ammenities. The fresh baked cookies upon check-in were a nice treat. Lots of young hipsters checking in.
The pool is nice, if a bit shaded later in the afternoon. There are tennis courts, a basketball hoop, sand volleyball and bocce ball- all right on the water's edge with a boardwalk along side it. We were travelling with 3 kids- 5,8 & 9- so there was a lot to entertain them. It is within walking distance to the Queen Mary and many room have a nice view. We had one with a balcony.
Unfortunately we couldn't have a cot brought up (firecode) so all 3 little ones had to share a a queen bed. We should have known it was going to be noisy at night when we saw earplugs on the nightstand. A band started playing around 11:30pm- great music, but VERY LOUD. They told us it must have come from the Queen Mary.
Getting around from the hotel was a breeze. There is an aquabus for a $1 per person that will take you across the water to the Pike area. There are also free buses that will take you to the Queen Mary and other areas of Downtown Long Beach.

Bottom line- nice place, but a bit noisy.

Room Tip: We loved having a balcony overlooking the water- but find out if the Queen Mary will be having any b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeucadiaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments! We are glad that you and the family enjoyed your stay as there is certainly a lot to do on properrty and within walking distance. Our new beach just opened as well for some additional fun. We do place ear plugs in our guest rooms all the time and though criticized for that on occasion, we find some guests like them and enjoy a better sleep. as we are a waterfront property with a public walkway in front of it, noise often travels across the water or up from activities below. We are implementing several changes to try to lessen any noise impacts on our guests at this time but I am glad this did not hamper your stay. Please come back and join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were very satisfied with this hotel as a place to stay prior to cruising from Long Beach. We booked the hotel's park and cruise rate, which allowed us free parking for the entire week of our cruise. The hotel is very close to the Carnival port and the free shuttle service to the port was on-time and very convenient.

The hotel itself is clean, modern and (if you're lucky) offers unbelievable views of the harbor. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for your comments and come back and stay with us longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is very modern and spacious. It boasted several nice views. We were staying here as we had an early flight out of Long Beach Airport and we had points. We were surprised by the $17.00 parking charge but didn't put up any fuss over it. The hotel grounds are nice. However, they are doing some renovations. There was a gay pride party going on at the hotel the day before and there were still some left over glasses and towels at the pool from the night before. Again, it didn't bother us since we weren't going to use the pool anyway. Our biggest complaint was that we had a hard time falling asleep because of the hotels flourescent lighting coming through the shutters on the windows (there were no shades). My husband mentioned it on check out and the receptionist graciously took off the parking charge. It was a pleasant surprise. When we got home I found that my jewelry bag was missing. My husband called the hotel and sure enough we had left it in the safe and they were so helpful in shipping the jewelry back to me. Everything was there and it was a huge relief. So I have to say THANK YOU to Hotel Maya for excellent customer service. Everything may not be perfect but they make up for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthegogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments..the minor construction was our new 6000 square foot beach and firepits. The good news is it is done so come back and enjoy it! The LED lighting that changes the outside colors of the building nightly is a design element that we just discovered doesnt work in specific guest rooms that only have shutters versus curtains so we are addressing it by putting up curtains in all rooms. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
415 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

It is located just down the walk from the Queen Mary. It is on a free bus to the aquarium and downtown Long Beach. That gives you access to many restaurants, boat tours etc. The room was very nice. We had a bay view. The a/c was a little too noisy. The onsite restaurant has great food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would recommend it if you are in the area.

Room Tip: A room facing the Queen Mary might even be better than just facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Loud and noisy hotel. No reguard for all hotel guest when they plan special events that disturb them.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area and ask questions about their constructions. My experience was like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leslielmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. As I said when we discussed earlier this week, I apologize that you were not informed that it was Gay Pride weekend when you joined us for your wedding anniversary. As it tends to be a very loud weekend in all of Long Beach, coupled with the beach project it was not quite the quiet relaxing weekend you expected. As you can see by many of the reviews here, that is not the normal and I encourage you to come back and give us another chance. I am truly sorry that we could not make you happy as we certainly strive to make all of our guests happy and satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing