We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre service at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I've stayed here several times and each time, the service declines a little. I doubt I'll stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hulalulabunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments though we would love to hear in more detail why you felt the service was less than great. We certainly strive for better and would like an opportunity to improve if there are areas where we may have dropped the ball. Please contact me directly at Kristi.allen@hilton.com to review the details of your stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Not convient to go out and come back this hotel. So,After coming back from towm, alway stuck in this hotel. However room is more than average.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjs1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Since your view was only cars I would assume you did not stay in a waterview room. The hotel was built so that 70% of all of the rooms face the water and then 30% face garden areas with some getting a partial view of the parking lot. I apologize that you did not get a waterview room but those room s do tend to sell out first and are in high demand. If we could make every room a wateview we would. You will have to return and stay in one so as to get the whole relaxing expereince. It is frustrating for us as well when we see guests who have trouble getting to the hotel. It is really quite easy to get to us however the city signage is horrible and we have been working with Caltrns for years to improve the signage. The best directions are available on our website and should be followed or even easier, take the complimentary red shuittle directly from the hotel to anywhere downtown and let someone else do the driving! Hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Only major complaint not easy to get to! Like the walking aspect.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Glad you liked the walking aspect as we are right next to the Queen Mary and within easy walking distance across the bridge to the Aquarium however many guests just jump on the complimentary shuttle that stops at the hotel every fifteen minutes and takes them all over Downtown Long Beach. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you want to feel like a King, you want to choose the Hotel Maya. It is equal to a resort, and the amenities are all upscale. You are within walking distance from the Queen Mary, and sitting directly on the Harbor at Long Beach. This gives you great access to the Queen, the city, and the city center of L.A.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in units one, two, or three. Unit four is closest to the road, and also has the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thanks for the comments...love the analogy. We have great pride in the Queen Mary and being next to it is an honor. Glad you enjoyed our central location and resort facilities. come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed only one night, but found this to be a great location. While others have said it is hard to find I thought there were plenty of signs and it was easy to get to. We had a water view room and it was great. We did eat at the Reef Resturant just up the street toward the Queen Mary and I have to say that if was fair at best. I don't like "brown " ceasar salads.
My regret was that I did not get a chance to meet the excellent GM who runs the hotel as she was away for the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I will let the Reef know as well because they too are always striving to do better. I personally prefer our restaurant fuego but I am a bit biased. Hope to get to meet you on your next trip to Long beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a unique review for me as I stayed at this hotel with 27 8th graders on a trip to Catalina Island the night before taking the ferry. I must say, the hotel's staff was very patient and accommodating. We booked the hotel months in advance for the trip and were very happy with the accommodations our students were placed in. We were able to use the veranda patio to set up some tables and feed the kids pizza, which for 27 kids is no small feat. The kids were also able to use the pool area which was a nice outlet after 7 hours of travel. Our rooms had coffee makers (Keurig) with the K-Cup dispensable options. A nice touch. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and the ease of access to the ferry was awesome. I highly recommend this hotel for families with kids. You won't be sorry you did.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrpFrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

I am so glad both you and the students were able to relax and enjoy the hotel and pool. We are very kid friendly with bike rentals, paddle boarding, the pool, bocce ball, basketball courts, tennis courts and the beach volleyball courts. You almost need another week to use it all. Hope to see you all again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very well positioned,clean with fantastic view on harbour and good dinner restaurant. They offer a free shuttle to the cruise port. May be a little dated in the decor with a 70,s look but was well priced and convenient.

Room Tip: make sure you get an elevated room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you! Hope to see you on your next pre-cruise stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,497 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,284 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $196 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing