We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The room was very nice and big! Loved that we had our own balcony! Fuego was amazing...delicious food!! Will be staying there again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJFigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Glad you liked it...Can't wait to have you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    503
    201
    98
    52
See reviews for
408
515
60
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Hotel Maya is to put it in one word, Fabulous. The whole hotel staff from the front desk to the cleaning personnel are pros. The rooms are decorated in such a way that you really feel right at home. Our room had a patio with a view on the bay. High speed internet comes in strong. By the way, it's free. The restaurant El Fuego is good. Good food and service with the choice of eating outside or inside. Basically, the Maya is the place to be for the hassle free feeling good experience.

I do have some suggestions for the Maya: Mainly, the $15 per day parking fee is too high. For sure the Maya is a good place to party but can the partying not be allowed in the halls at 3:A.M?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orcaswatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
It is a very special place to be..often called a hidden retreat right here in the middle of everything. I always recommend a balcony to enjoy the beautiful water view and you can't beat a margarita at Fuego on the deck. It sonds like you did it right. The partiers we are working on...See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Good service. But Air-con was too noisy...and bad water pressure...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CareyWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
I apologize you found it noisy here. The air conditioners can be noisy though we are replacing all units in the fall to try to remedy. You will have to come back and stay again to see the difference. We look forward to seeing you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Maya was a nice place to stay with a tropical feel and beautiful views of the water and the Queen Mary. The rooms were comfortable and the bedding was nice with choice of pillow type. We had two queen beds with water view overlooking the Queen Mary. Gorgeous! They also have Keurig coffee machines and a good sized fridge which was really nice. We saved by eating breakfast on our patio (cereal and bagels and cream cheese). There is a free city shuttle that comes through the property to take you to local destinations such as the wonderful aquarium. We didn't have to use the car for a couple of days which was nice. It is also pretty close to Disneyland and Universal Studios (about 1/2 hour drive if no traffic). The only cons were the ice machine not working properly, the loud air conditioning units and the pool bar never being open during the week despite their telling me they would be open shortly. They never showed, twice. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinsadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed the feel of the Maya and all we have to offer yet I apologize you encountered any negatives! We are aware of the AC units and in the middle of replacing all of them. Our pool bar opens Friday-Sunday however we serve food and drinks daily at the pool through our room service menu every day. There is a menu and a telephone to order on right at the pool bar. I will go look at how we can make it a bit more obvious since it sounds like it might not be. Come back and join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Clean room, elegant bathroom, comfy beds, nice balcony. Feels like a resort. Indoor/outdoor dining patio reminded me of the hotels we stayed at in Hawaii. Beautiful view of the harbor, Queen Mary. Very tropical feel. Great pool, hot tub, semi-private sunbathing "rooms" divided by airy curtains. Loud music, club-like atmosphere in outdoor dancefloor/party area. Very lively, vibrant place. Great breakfast buffet but it costs $20.00 per person. For the price of the room it should've been included. Everyone who reviews the hotels in Long Beach screams about the cost of parking, but EVERY hotel in the area charges for it, so...oh well. Loved the complimentary chocolate chip cookies. First class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were on the 4th floor of building 3 in a quiet corner, we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBLover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Glad you loved it and looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Maya Hotel was a challenge to locate, but is situated on the backside of the pike across from Long Beach. The site was stunning across from the front of the Queen Mary Ship. The rooms were clean and crisp and felt very five starish. The check in service was easy and bus tranportation to town was free. This was a fabulous hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moran_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
We would love to have you again too! I agree with the hard to find...we are working with CALtrans for better signage and GPS's tell you that you are here when you are not so we highly encourage people to print our directions from the Hotel Maya Website. You can click through to our website on Tripadvisor! Come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

First, let say that I never write reviews, but after staying in Hotel Maya I had to! After a long flight with an emergency landing it was great to pull up to this beautiful Hotel with a very friendly staff! Not only were they friendly but they were also helpful and made us feel right at home. The property has a European feel to it with a great view of the harbor. One of the things that I loved about this hotel was the awesome pool area and cabanas! It is also within walking distance of the Queen Mary and a short ride to the Aquarium, restaurants and shopping. We were there on business but we will definitely be back with our whole family!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing