We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in a heart beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

After flying from Australia and arriving at the hotel around 11am we went to check in and the room wasnt ready as we assumed anyway but the staff gladly stored our bags while we walked the few hundred metres up the road to get a bite to eat. By the time we were back at 1pm the room was ready for us. The staff did the best for us to get into our room as quick as possible in order for us to shower and have a snooze!

The hotel is in a great location with the free red shuttle bus stopping right in the hotel carpark and taking you directly into town where you have so many shopping venues, restaurants and other acitivites to chose from. Very convenient!

We were there over the 4th July weekend and had heard there would be celebrations in the area to enjoy. We decided to have the $65 buffet in the hotel that night, we are so glad we did. We spent 3 hours eating and eating and eating..it was great to try some great America dishes and great quality ones at that. We also paid an extra $12 and chose to have endless champagne for the entire night also... the only let down was the fire works but thats out of everyone's control!

We spent 2 nights in the hotel which we found very clean and comfortable. The only problems we had were the fact we had a room with no balcony and you couldnt open any of the windows far enough to get a fresh breeze in the room. Our air con worked fantastically however the noise was incredibly loud and we had to turn it off as it became too much.

All in all this was a great hotel and a nice place to relax and recover from jetlag before heading on for the rest of the holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

We are so thrilled you chose to stay with us to celebrate the 4th of July. You really got a good perspective of how our nation celebrates with all of the picnics and barbecues throughout the proeprty and waterfront around the hotel. The Fuego dinner buffet was fantastic and true to form on our American treats. Glad you enjoyed them! I definitely recommend a balcony next time to enjoy our wonderful waterfront location. Hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,698 - 1,704 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here recently (july 2011) and the hotel was great. It was very clean and the room was good. Overall it was a great experience. The hotel staff was helpful, and when they did not know the answer to your question they found someone who did.

The parking here is an additional cost and there is no breakfast included. However the city of Long Beach has a free bus which will pick you up at your hotel and take you to the downtown area.

The only problem I had while I was there was that the wireless internet in my room did not work all that great. I did call the front desk who responded immediately however they ended up sending a "repair man" who unplugged the router and then plugged it back in. When it didn't work he told me that was just the way it is. Some rooms don't work. I would have appreciated more of a resolution. However there was a computer in the lobby which was used by everyone so if you hit the time right you could use that.

We are already planning to go back someday and I would easily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the water...... It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Thank you for the comments! Our guest room internet is complimentary and thus gets a ton of use which sometimes slows it down. We have been working for several months to upgrade the bandwidth which should triple the speed. Then by the fall we will also install Hilton's stay connected internet package which puts us in service with AT&T. I hope you come back and experience the hotel again when all of the new internet has been upgraded. I am glad you enjoyed your stay...looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Bedrooms were pleasant, clean with large beds, but you couldn't keep the shutters clipped open if you wanted to look out the window. We were not made aware of cheaper breakfast options and ended up paying $18 per person for an extremely disappointing breakfast. Clearly everything had been sitting there for hours, was luke-warm, pancakes like toast and incinerated bacon. Dinner however was good, all the wait-staff were very pleasant. The whole hotel has extremely low security - anyone can walk straight up to the bedroom doors off the street via the car park or the river walkway (which also overlooks the pool area which would be otherwise pleasant). Also beware, you have to pay to park at the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Maya. I am glad you enjoyed dinner at our award winning restaurant but was concerned that you did not like the Breakfast buffet. Our Food and Beverage Director will be following up on your comments. We are a short walk away from the Queen Mary which also has 9 different dining venues including a coffee house for a quick inexpensive bite if Fuego is too formal for our guests. It is always good for travelers to be aware of their surroundings from a security standpoint however we do have a security team who monitors our 14 acre resort style property. Due to our secluded location there is really very little foot traffic on this side of the water unless they are hotel or Queen Mary guests. We hope you decide to come back and give Hotel Maya another try since it appears you did not enjoy it as well as most of our guests do. Let me know if you do so we can make sure we take great care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My experience with the hotel was very much like the review titled "Beautiful property, but party central on weekends". Friday night was very nice, but Saturday night was more than noisy slamming doors. It was wall shaking music blasting next door at midnight. It took two security visits before it finally calmed down. No amount of noise dampening carpet would have helped. We were in building 4, which we were told at check out "can get a little noisy on the weekends". How about putting guests that prefer to sleep in other buildings to start with. After complaining, we did get $50.00 off our room rate.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sleepless44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you for your comments. You make a good point about putting all guests who are with groups in the same building and we certainly try to do that as long as we know they are part of a wedding or group. This tends to keep most of the noise in one building. We have also started distributing our no party policy to these groups at check in so they know they will be evicted if they receive noise complaints. This has decreased our noise complaints considerably. Thanks for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I have been here 3 times now, twice for business and one just for fun. The staff here go out of of their way to be friendly and helpful. The location is great, away from the downtown, but with the free Passport shuttle, it's just a few minutes away. I also found that it's a quick walk across the bridge and you're downtown in no time as well. I also love the restaurant, great food, great staff, fabulous bartenders! The addition of the hookah lounge is pretty cool too. The pool is great, wish the bar would stay open longer :)
My only issue with the hotel are the lack of counter space in the bathroom (the individuals sinks look good, but it would be nice to have a bit more room). Also, the bathroom doors don't shut all the way (sliders), which make for a less than private situation, but beyond that, this is my favorite place to stay in Long Beach, and I will return any time I'm in LB for business, or even for a getaway weekend hotel. Love it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzannees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

We love, love , love to hear that ! We hope to see you again soon on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stumbled on this place via bidding on Priceline.com and absolutely loved everything about it. It is very different from your typical higher end hotels like the Hilton. The design and architecture was beautiful and interesting. The restaurant was fabulous with an amazing view of the water and the cruise ships coming and going. We would sit out on the patio for hours enjoying the sun and the little taste of a vacation it offered. The room was quite, beautiful and comfortable. The customer service was fantastic as well. When they hand you as many fresh baked cookies as you want when you first walk in, it is hard to not be happy. This was a great place to come home to with weary feet after spending all day at a trade show. We will definitely be coming back again since we make the trip every year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alixxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Glad you found us here and enjoyed your stay...We are looking forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I have stayed at three Long Beach hotels this month, and this was my second favorite. The decor in this multi-building hotel complex is a colorful, Mayan theme. The bright colors are fun and there are many unusual features - for example: there were three wall planters in my room containing cactus, and the headboard was made of round stones anchored in cement. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, the bathroom was clean and attractive. There was a wonderfully cozy upholstered chair in the corner of the room. From my room i had a lovely water view through the five large windows.

Room Tip: ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701LongBeach, General Manager at Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We would love to know what it would take to become your favorite hhotel in Long beach. Email me at kristi.allen@hilton.com and let me know. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
775 reviews
1 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $218 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya is the first distinctive full-service, luxury Long Beach boutique resort hotel, located on the scenic downtown waterfront. A fusion of Latin American beachside Long Beach resort with modern Southern California style, Hotel Maya embodies the romantic, eclectic, and vibrant lifestyle of Long Beach, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Long Beach
Coast Long Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing