We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the Magic?”
Review of Magic Lamp Grill

Magic Lamp Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Magic Lamp Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 1,119 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Where is the Magic?”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Certainly this is the place to go for food. The decor is great and the Hosts Friendly. The serving staff and cooks seem completely indifferent. The sad thing is, this is consistent. Ive been here several times. Sometimes its good, sometimes its lousy. The food certainly most makes up for it. There is another establishment called Open Seseme on the same street, but this place is tastier and cheaper.
They could liven up their place and take in more customers if they wanted to...Oh well

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SonicSpringBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It is both Lebanese and Mediterranean....and fresh!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

All of the favorite Mediterranean dishes....Gyro, Shawarma, Tabbouli, Baba Ganouj, and Humus. With some special Lebanese dinners added, and even authentic Turkish coffee.

The preparation is fresh, and the spice level is balanced just right, not too mild or overpowering. The Pita bread is made as it's ordered, delicate individual pillows of goodness.

The dining is a choice of inside, or al fresco. Be aware, though, as with many restaurants on Long Beach famous 2nd Avenue, many times there will be a 4-legged friend laying nearby, and the outside dining is typical European...complete with all the sounds of the street. The atmosphere is warm and casual, and the service is friendly and efficient.

There is a take out menu, as well, with many of the items from the main menu included. The items may seem a bit on the pricey side for lunch, but well worth the money for either lunch or dinner. There are also vegetarian and vegan plates to choose from.

We will certainly visit this restaurant again on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmarq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese Cuisine, specially Appetizers”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you want some great Lebanese Appetizers, and I mean Great as in As Close to Homemade Authentic Lebanese Cuisine, MAgic Lamp Hit the Jackpot. I haven't tried the main Dishes because i was so full from the Appetizers, but i'm sure it's Also Good.
They have live Arabic Music on Saturday Nights, and It was a great Ambiance , very Chill and Casual .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enduranceRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Mediteranean Food”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

For the exception of George's, Magic Lamp is the best Mediterranean restaurant in Long Beach. We have been here several times and have always walked away satisfied.

We noticed that they revamped their menu, but we haven't noticed any difference is the taste of the food, which is a good thing. We always start with the Fried Potatoes and a glass of Lebanese or Chilean wine.

I've tried the both the Beef Shawarma and Chicken Shawarma which are both better than what you get at Open Sesame. Most recently I tried the Falafel Combo which was also delicious. Overall, I've have never been disappointed with any the food here. Another plus is that they don't charge extra for pita bread which seems to be a trend at other restaurants.

Also service has always been great. Some of the other nearby restaurants could take a lesson from these guys.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBPurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun place with good food”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Magic lamp is located in the quaint 2nd Street area south of Long Beach but close to downtown. The restaurant looks average and I found it by luck and a hunger for MidEastern food - I'm glad I did. The best hummus I've ever tasted started off an enjoyable meal of grilled lamb and veggies. Portion sizes are generous and prices very reasonable. Staff was friendly and I enjoyed dinner so much I returned for lunch the next day - just as good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M2hra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Lamp Grill also viewed

 

Been to Magic Lamp Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing