We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better flavor of certain foods,new Olive oil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Lamp Grill

Magic Lamp Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Magic Lamp Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 1,097 Restaurants in Long Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belmont Shore, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“better flavor of certain foods,new Olive oil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

had,Friday Dinner June22
I frequently order Hummus here cause It is really good.
I noticed the flavor of Hummus was even better than usual.
I was curious.
I was told that,shortly after Father's day..the Owner added some unique Olive oil to certain recipes.Olive Oil makes a difference is fine food.The new oil is an Ultra premium.100% California sourced,The entire table /pals liked the big flavors resulting from the new olive oil.
Like Nadia G of "Cooking channel B' Kitchen " says: always use the best olive oil you can"
obviously Magic Lamp got Nads' message.
Service better..there are some new zippy and attentive staff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P-and-A-Belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Food In Long Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had dinner at this restaurant to celebrate my son's graduation from CSULB last month. The ambiance, service, and food was excellent. We had tried another Mediterranean restaurant on the same street (Open Sesame) on a previous visit and I found that this restaurant was better. We had a party of 5 people and each of us tried a different dish and we were all happy with our dishes. The quality and quantity of the food was excellent as was a reasonable choice of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. The waiter was very attentive, made some good suggestions, and provided great service. We recommend this restaurant located in Belmont Shores.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel2u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best Middle Eastern Food in Long Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you want real Middle Eastern food and you want it good, this is the place to each. I had my husband's birthday dinner here and the food was a huge hit with everyone. We had the beef and chicken kabobs - both very good. I really liked the chicken - it was moist and very flavorful. the homos and baba ganoush were excellent - dishes were clean. Service was great. Good value. Also, i recommend the take out - we just got the lamb kabob - super good!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YR-LGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I like this place for the food and the atmosphere. I like the lamps, decor and the decorative pillows to lean against. The lebanese food is very good. I have had the Kabob platter several times as well as other dishes.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Buff29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Skip Open Sesame and go HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

There used to be three Lebanese restaurants on 2nd Street in Belmont Shore: Open Sesame, Sunnin and Magic Lamp. Open Sesame always has a wait and opened up a second location a door or two down from the main restaurant; Sunnin was almost directly across the street and never had a wait, with lower prices and better food and they closed their doors last year.

We were big fans of Sunnin, especially their garlic sauce served with their grilled chicken, which we first discovered on one of the Shore's quarterly Stroll and Savor nights. We had to see what the fuss was at Open Sesame, though, and checked it out after several visits to Sunnin. We didn't get it. The food at Open Sesame was fine and the prices okay, but right across the street was Sunnin with BETTER food, BETTER prices and no wait. So, when Sunnin closed their doors we headed down the street to Magic Lamp.

Good call! The Chicken Tawook Plate for $12.99 is what we order almost every time. The mini pitas are baked fresh on the premises and the tabbouli is crisp and tangy. Meals come with a choice of babaganoush or hummus, with tabbouli or another type of salad. It's very filling and we always tell ourselves we won't eat it all, but it's so good, that we usually do. The service is very friendly and we have never had to wait. Luckily, it seems to be busier than Sunnin was, so we hope they will be around for a long time.

They do take-out of their full menu, sending you off with a full packet of pitas. They'll even sell you their garlic sauce, in case it's a night where you want to grill your own chicken at home.

AND, to make it even a better choice, they support local charities, participating in the annual Pathways to Independence event each October.

Good food, great service, the right ambiance and they give back to the community.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Lamp Grill also viewed

Long Beach, CA
Long Beach, CA
 

Been to Magic Lamp Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing