We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - it was fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalina Express

Catalina Express
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.50*
and up
Catalina Express Round-Trip Ferry Service: Long Beach or San Pedro to Avalon
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catalina Island is just an hour away aboard our fast and sleek boats out of Long Beach, San Pedro and Dana Point. We are committed to offering the most advanced, state-of-the-art watercraft available while maintaining a high level of dedication to safety, customer satisfaction, and quality of service. Today, the fleet consists of 8 high-speed vessels. More than one million passengers set sail to Catalina Island each year on board Catalina Express, and with year round service and up to 30 departures daily, you can easily join them.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow - it was fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We like the trip, location of the launch point, discount we got and the scheduled departures. Comfortable and clean on board, staff very nice. Especially the nice fellow that helped get our tickets and same with the gal that helped us on catalina straighten out a problem with our return trip time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulabelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    252
    52
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very well maintained clean and professionally run vessels. Different seating options available as well as food and beverages Restrooms clean and plentiful on board too. Enjoyed a great ride to and from the island.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Transport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

It is not an attraction. It is the ferry landing for transport to Catalina Island.

Clean. Efficient.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice way to get to Catalina Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We departed from San Pedro. The berth was easy to find. We took a yacht to Catalina and a catamaran on the return trip. The service was good. Recommend this company.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mardelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

A great way to travel to Catalina. Also, went for free roundtrip on my birthday. This trip included a lot of freebie's on a birthday as well. Catalina loves to have the tourists come through and the Catalina Express is the best way to go. It is only about an hour each way from their Long Beach Launch site. What a wonderful deal!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fencegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Express also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing