We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the upgrade”
Review of Catalina Express

Catalina Express
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.50*
and up
Catalina Express Round-Trip Ferry Service: Long Beach or San Pedro to Avalon
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catalina Island is just an hour away aboard our fast and sleek boats out of Long Beach, San Pedro and Dana Point. We are committed to offering the most advanced, state-of-the-art watercraft available while maintaining a high level of dedication to safety, customer satisfaction, and quality of service. Today, the fleet consists of 8 high-speed vessels. More than one million passengers set sail to Catalina Island each year on board Catalina Express, and with year round service and up to 30 departures daily, you can easily join them.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Take the upgrade”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

For a little more money you can upgrade to the upper deck, where you have more room, early boarding and a bit more comfort. If you set your mind to compare this to the Greyhound of the sea, you'll be fine. The crew is far from friendly, and seems to be somewhat bitter about their career choices. But you get there, quickly and safely.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike90275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    256
    52
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfield, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Basically the only way to get to the island”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you are not fortunate enough to own your own boat, Catalina Express is really the only way to get to the island. The price may seem a bit high but when you factor in the cost of fuel and the flexibility of schedule it is very fair. We had dolphins fallowing our boat on the trip to and from the island. I grew up taking the express every summer to visit the Island and this past Spring I made it back after an 11 year absense. it seems that there have been some positive changes , now you can buy snacks and drinks and wander out to the roof top if you wish. The island it's self felt like a blast from the past Avalon as charming as I always remember it to be.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KRL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“anniversary in Catalina”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went there for our 6 year anniversary, it was lovely. Even our little toddler was comfy and cozy on Catalina Express. They sell snacks and drinks and a rooftop. If you lucky you will see dolphins.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bozhena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best birthday trip yet”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I took myself to Catalina for my birthday on the Catalina Express. Though I am a local Los Angeles resident, I felt like I was far away on vacation for the day. Being on the water was so comfortable. The ride was smooth and fast. Plenty of seating with a choice of sitting inside or out. This trip made for a very special memory. Go when you can.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Efficient shuttle to Catalina”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The boat was clean and we had a smooth ride to Catalina. We saw pods of dolphins on the way, which was a nice bonus.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Express also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing