We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place to Stay in Long Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Long Beach
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
San Pedro, CA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable Place to Stay in Long Beach”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and each stay is reasonably consistent. Rooms are nice, Westin bed comfortable, and service efficient and friendly. My couple of experiences in the hotel restaurant have left a lot to be desired. Since you are right on Ocean Blvd, there are lots of other, better places to eat.

Valet parking is $21 and self-park a few dollars less. No convenient street parking.

Front desk staff is always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Head down to the Long Beach Cafe for breakfast. Best deal in town, and huge portions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    423
    198
    74
    36
See reviews for
214
198
67
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We checked into the Westin after having checked out of a horrible hotel which we hadn't even been in for 10 minutes. We had an advantage over other walk-in guests because we booked with Hotwire for about $90 a night (with tax). The staff was very helpful and did not take long to check us in (it was around 4:30 pm).

I was pleased that the room we got was on the highest floor (16 if I remember correctly). We had high ceiling and big windows (which is nice for taller people like us). Our room was very clean and welcoming. The beds were full I believe which were a little on the small side but none the less very comfortable. The pillows were nice and fluffy as well. The bathroom had a nice bright light which was great for shaving (for my husband) and applying make-up (for myself). Every day that we would return to our room from a busy day, our room was clean. We also had a mini fridge in our room which made it nice for our 2 year old's sippy cup.

If I had to sum up the hotel this is what it would come down to:

Pros: Modern room, clean, friendly staff, good location (1 block from the ocean), great night sleep.

Cons: $18 P2 level parking per night, & trash needed to be taken out by the p2 elevator to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5280vhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Shout out to Yenise, Brian and Jessie.. for GREAT SERVICE...
Excellent service at one of my favorite hotels. I recommend you to be a starwood member so you end up on the starwood preferred guest level. Excellent breakfast, great location, great views from the room. Fabulous hotel all around..

Room Tip: be a starwood preferred guest..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was here on business and the service was great as well as the food, at the "Grill" and room service. The room was clean but maybe not top 4 star.
The concierge , Carlos, new his stuff, very helpful and professional.
I would recommend the Westin in Long Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 465tony465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the Westin with our infant daughter nearly a week this month. We are SPG members and have enjoyed many Westins around the world. Unfortunately, this one sorely misses the mark.

Here are the biggest critiques:

- Rooms are far from "heavenly." The pillows are half-sized and thin. There are no pillow tops on the mattresses. The bathrooms have unpleasant fluorescent light that cannot be dimmed or supplemented with secondary lights. Rooms are on the whole empty of useful furniture, comfortable sitting areas, etc.

- We booked a "deluxe room" because of our daughter and were expecting a larger space with a place to sit, as the pictures on the website indicate. Unfortunately, the deluxe rooms are the same as standard ones, only with more windows. (This is not necessarily an advantage as the sun streams into the rooms, heating them up, and forcing us to keep our shades closed for most of the day.)

- We called a week in advance and reserved a refrigerator to store milk for the baby. When we arrived we were told that there were none available. When we explained that the refrigerator was necessary to store food for the baby, we were told we could either keep it in the hotel refrigerator and call guest services when we wanted it. (Yes, a great idea when your baby is screaming and hungry at 3 am.) Or, we could store the milk in the ice bucket. No sympathy. No apologies.

- We were attending a conference and in the conference area, a large sign was prominently displayed saying that if you validated your parking ticket, valet parking was $10 a day. We validated and on check-out we informed the front desk. Upon hearing this, the front desk said that the sign referred to conference attendees who were not staying in the hotel. Needless to say, this was not stated anywhere on the sign.

Raising the latter issue with the front desk led to a lengthy, and unpleasant conversation with hotel staff who refused to acknowledge they were in the wrong and refused to compensate us in any way.

Only after leaving the front desk, and loading our car, did the hotel manager come out to us and apologize, admit that the sign was incorrect, and offered to cover our parking changes as well as discount our last night in the hotel. This was certainly appropriate given the circumstances and it is what I would expect from a Westin. However, the surliness and inattentiveness of the hotel staff until this point (including the very same hotel manager), as well as the generally subpar quality of the environment, made our stay a disappointment.

Caveat emptor -- stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not worth getting a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so sorry to hear and sincerely disappointed that you did not have a positive experience with us. We assure you that this is not the type of service that our hotel is known for. We strive to deliver excellent service at all times and provide our guests with the most comfortable stay. We are surprised to hear that your beddings were not up to your standards as our guestrooms have been newly renovated and we have new Heavenly Pillows and Heavenly Pillow Top Mattresses in all our guestrooms. We would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly so at your earliest convenience, please contact our Director of Front Office Operations, Jeff Bonds at (562) 436-3000 or jeff.bonds@westinlb.com. We would be delighted to have another opportunity to show you the best hotel experience that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Everyone is very helpful and friendly. Easy check in and check out. Across from mall, rainbow harbor, which has tones of restaurants. Very clean, we enjoyed our stay very much. We loved our room. Very nice big lobby area. Great location. Whole family would enjoy. Rooms are quiet. We will return when we visit again Long Beach. Yenise Camacho was very sweet.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not much of a reviewer but here are my thoughts..
Rooms are very efficient.. Very business friendly but can defly imagine bringing my entire family here for its spaciousness of the room and the lobby..

Service is much more personable and geunine than other 5 stars that i have stayed..

Food is not awesome but then again i ordered a room service.. still much better han i thought.. their beer selections were impressive.. Having dinner here tonight so we'll see about this one in a bit..

I come to long beach often and there are two hyatts here.. but i am really liking this Westin..

Highly recommended..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wook C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your comments about our guestrooms and overall feel of our hotel. We recently finished our renovations in January this year so we are glad that we are making a positive impact to your overall stay. We also appreciate your comment about the food quality of our in-room dining. At your earliest convenience, we would love to hear more specifics on the food you ordered so that we may work on improving its quality. Our F&B Outlets Manager, Rizalina Mellendrez (rizalina.mellendrez@westinlb.com) would be delighted to hear from you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Long Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.7 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Property: The Westin Long Beach
Address: 333 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90802-4800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing