We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive service, good food”

Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,102 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean
Description: Capturing the feel of an authentic British chowder house, complete with subway-tiled walls, tables covered with butcher block paper and a decorative tin ceiling, Chelsea Chowder House & Bar is a contemporary take on the traditional fish house. Enjoy the lively atmosphere while dining on some of the best seafood and steaks around.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
618 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Attentive service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our waiter seemed to like his job and that makes a big difference. He was attentive and the food was pretty good too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lannyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Thank you so much for the feedback and we are very glad to read you enjoyed your visit.

We hope to have you dine aboard the World Famous Queen Mary again soon!
-QM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    110
    74
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No improvement needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The husband & I had dinner here before going to "Dark Harbor". Our server, Lucy, was friendly & attentive without being a helicopter (hovering). I had the house salad & it was among the best I've ever had. We shared the surf & turf. The steak was high quality & done just the way we like it. The lobster tail was fresh & succulent. Prices are also reasonable, especially when compared to Sir Winaron's; though I can't speak to their food or service as I've never dined there. But I would not hesitate to return to the Chelsea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug121695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Travelbug -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you enjoyed Dark Harbor and had a nice meal aboard the ship...before we scared the ship out of you! :) Glad our waiter was not a helicopter.

-Queen Mary Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice view and atmospherr”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

we ordered the "surf and turf" steak & lobster tail at $40.00 per serving. The view of the harbor/Long Beach and the atmosphere was most memorable. We were seated quickly and service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Thank you so much for the feedback and we are very glad to read you enjoyed your visit.

We hope to have you dine aboard the World Famous Queen Mary again soon!
-QM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The less-expensive alternative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room is not special, rather dark. The food was OK for the price. Service was fine. Better to splurge on Sir Winston's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BostonHistorybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Thank you for the feedback and first and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that may have been caused to you during dining visit here aboard the World Famous Queen Mary. Our ultimate goal is to provide each and every guest with utmost level of service, quality of food and memorable experience. I regret that we fell short in delivering our commitment of providing you with excellent service and quality food as we like to provide an excellent chew to pair with our amazing view.

I would also like to thank you for providing your feedback in regards to your experience. It is guest like you that we rely on in receiving feedback in order for us to improve our guest services and the quality of our foods.

We hope to host you again soon!
-QM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eat somewhere else.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

"blackboard fresh fish of the day" is not fresh. Its just what they call it. Grilled fish had the consistency of mashed potatoes. This is a tourist attraction so the staff has the manners of a ticket taker at a carnival. They got visibly upset when we asked for a window table. We had reservations and we were hotel guests on the Queen Mary. And yes they made a big production and checked when we told them. The chowder is quite good however.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank janmarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
Thank you for the feedback and first and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that may have been caused to you during dining visit here aboard the World Famous Queen Mary. Our ultimate goal is to provide each and every guest with utmost level of service, quality of food and memorable experience. I regret that we fell short in delivering our commitment of providing you with excellent service and quality food as we like to provide an excellent chew to pair with our amazing view.

I would also like to thank you for providing your feedback in regards to your experience. It is guest like you that we rely on in receiving feedback in order for us to improve our guest services and the quality of our foods.

We hope to host you again soon!
-QM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea's Chowder House & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing