We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, clean, quiet, comfortable...location not the best...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Long Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Long Beach
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Davenport, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, clean, quiet, comfortable...location not the best...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

First, I must agree with another reviewer...the bed was the most comfortable that we have ever experienced in a hotel, and we have travelled a lot!! The room was amazing...awesome kitchen, fully stocked. Housekeepers even did our dirty dishes, I didn't expect that!! Room was very clean, very comfortable, and very quiet! One major complaint...no wifi in the room. Another complaint...too far from downtown Long Beach. It cost $25 one-way to take a taxi to downtown. The location isn't the most desirable, even though easy access to 405. Another good thing...there is a wonderul diner nearby that serves great breakfasts at very reasonable prices called Spires. We highly recommend Spires. And...don't forget free food and drink (including beer/wine) Mon thru Thurs in the lobby!!! Overall, this Residence Inn was a great place to stay. I just wish they would get with the times and offer wifi in the rooms!! I ended up paying $20 to get a hotspot from my smartphone to have Internet access on my laptop.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrencecyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    70
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
73
30
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had an emergency trip out to Long Beach for one night, so decided to pick a location by the airport (for our return flight). We could choose between the Residence Inn or the regular Marriott. Now we wish we had chosen the other one.

We chose this location due to the "Airport shuttle service, reservation required, complimentary " listed on their website. Sadly, the one thing we used to pick this location was not available. Now we know it best call ahead. I used the central reservations number to book the room and they also stated the shuttle was available. We did manage to get to the airport via cab (but it is $10, not $8). *I know they list it as an estimate, but a little more accuracy would be nice.

Check-In took some time due to the New Year's Eve Holiday and some folks do not understand the concept of holds on debit cards. Once checked in, we still had 2 more stops to make before retiring for the night. Now we wish we had checked the room first. When we got to the room, we found it lacking in the normal standards of Marriott properties and specifically, Residence Inn. The door had been forced open at some point in time, so the locking faceplate was skewed. While the door still locked, it didn't resonate a secure feeling. The overall feel of the room was run down. The usual compliment of toiletries was missing. We had the essentials in shampoo and soap. The most unusual item was the smell. Either there was some sort of sewer problem or some animal had died in the wall. It was stronger around the sinks, so we thought it to be a sewer problem. it was not overpowering and after the extended waits at the front desk, we gave up on a resolution, so we just didn't go into the kitchen area and closed the bathroom door.

The linens were clean the bed firm, but the pillows not so much. Overall, we got a night's sleep. Just not what we were used to in Residence Inn.

The security checking people as they came onto the property was nice. We weren't sure if that was due to the holiday or a regular occurance.

Overall, the property had a rundown feel. It seemed that management felt that if no one complained, there was no need to maintain anything on the property. The staff was as accomodating as possible, with the exception of not having enough front desk persons to work the busy holiday. Nancyann was fantastic, albeit a bit overwhelmed. She did what she could within the confines of the local policies.

When we travel again to Long Beach, we will look to the other Marriott properties instead of this Residence Inn. This was just not up to the normal standards we have come to expect from Marriott properties.

If you are simply looking for a bed and a shower, this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Went to CA for some leisure time with my boyfriend and this hotel was super clean and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. I would never think to credit a hotel with a bed better than home but this place wins that prize. We liked having a little apartment type space and the rates weI got were exceptional for the space. The staff was very friendly and the location was right off the 405 and it is easy to get around from there if you have a rental car. I would definitely stay there again if I found myself back in Long Beach for any extended period of time.

There was no wireless in the rooms which was the only disappointment since I was traveling with an iPad and the room network jack wasn't going to work. They had a free breakfast buffet every morning and they did have free wireless in the lobby so I was able to use the internet when I needed it without too much inconvenience.

Room Tip: I would choose a top floor corner, we did not have any issues with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Spacious suite with sparking clean appliances: stove, oven, refrigerator/freezer and microwave. And what a treat to have a real window that opens! The amenities go on and on: 100% smoke-free (all Marriott properties have had a smoke-free room policy since 2006); comfortable bed; free Los Angeles Times and USA Today; excellent breakfast including eggs, ham and fruit; free evening social nights Monday-Thursday 5-7:30; free WiFi; and free computer terminals in the lobby. Friendly and professional staff. Long Beach Transit bus lines 111/112 are a 1-minute walk from the hotel with frequent service to downtown Long Beach, Long Beach airport and Lakeshore Center mall. The hotel also offers a free airport shuttle. Julie, one of the managers, was very open to a suggestion I made that they provide clearly-marked recycling bins, compost bins and trash bins in the breakfast room, as well as a bin for recycling in each guest room. I stayed for 2 nights on business. Glad I did.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank madawaska2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We've stayed at this Residence Inn on three separate occasions in the last two years with our adult kids, all three times for family funerals in Orange County. We found it clean, friendly, comfortable, and conveniently located on the 405 freeway near the LB Airport. Perfect for our purposes. I am also a business traveler, and would recommend it to anyone staying in the area on business, especially extended stays.

Room Tip: If you lots of luggage, I suggest a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackEauClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here last April during a Spring Break trip to SoCal to do some family visiting, college tours and DLand outing. The hotel room was very nicely decorated and clean and inviting. The location is not beautiful, excellent access to the freeway, but not a place you want to take a stroll down the street. As long as you stayed within the hotel confines, it was fine. With the full kitchen facility, and grocery store down the street, nice to be able to have some food in room. Breakfast daily is also included which is always a good thing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because of easy access to the 405 freeway, the Long Beach Airport and the locations I needed to visit. It was quiet with everything I needed for evening of rest. I especially like the rooms because of the small kitchen and expansive space when compared to an average hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelseeker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Marriott
Long Beach Marriott
#18 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Long Beach Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#10 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Long Beach

Property: Residence Inn Long Beach
Address: 4111 E Willow St, Long Beach, CA 90815-1740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Long Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Hotel in Long Beach welcomes guests to relax and enjoy the convenience of our location near the Aquarium of the Pacific, Queen Mary, and Disneyland Resort. We are only a short drive from the Long Beach Airport, Long Beach Convention Center, Long Beach Port, Cal State Long Beach and Lakewood, CA. Guests are offered everything they need to thrive during an extended stay at our Long Beach hotel. Each suite offers a separate living and sleeping area, fully equipped kitchen and stylish furnishings. Take advantage of our hotel's free high-speed Internet access and free grocery service. Enjoy a free hot breakfast in the morning before spending the day exploring, working or relaxing by our outdoor pool or whirlpool. In the evenings, join our Residence Inn Mix™, a relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Business travelers staying in our spacious hotel suites will appreciate added amenities including a large desk and ergonomic chair. Stay in comfort at the extended stay Hotel in Long Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing