We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good basic accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Motel Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tower Motel Long Beach
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked this motel in Long Beach for a very inexpensive rate. The motel is conveniently located near I-710, and is located on the Pacific Coast Highway. The room was equipped with a flat screen TV, a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a nice tiled shower. It was very clean and well maintained. The first night, we discovered that the toilet tank arm was broken, but it was fixed immediately. Sometimes, you don't need fancy accommodations. All you want is a clean, quiet room with the basic amenities in a safe and convenient location. This motel fit the bill nicely.

Room Tip: We did not use the A/C or heater, but it looked to be in good condition. Most likely, all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
7
19
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The rooms were great. They were really clean and the bathroom area was modernized. Large flat screen tv on the wall and a mini fridge. The area was really the only problem. As people have mentioned, the place to check in is a little room where you are separated by a plexi glass thing from the manager (kind of a scary start). Also it was two girls staying there which was likely a bad move. A few people walking by on the street saw us go into the room and followed us to the door and knocked on it. Needless to say we did not answer the door and they did eventually walk away with no issue but it was a little rattling. For a guy or a few guys it might be better but I would not recommend a women or group of ladies staying here alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaylaPanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

If I could have gotten out of our reservation, I would have. We are here now, curtains drawn, air conditioner on to block out the noise, and window locked. The room is clean, as is the bathroom. There is a very nice, large flat screen TV, a microwave, and a mini fridge. That is the extent of the pros.

There is no lobby, just a pexiglass (bullet proof?) window to check in with the manager. Rooms are all on ground level and open to the small, secluded parking lot. We walked across the street looking for something to eat, and were literally stared at and glared at by most folks we passed. There are no recognizable restaurants in the area, and we quickly settled on calling for pizza rather than walking around the neighborhood. The apartments behind the hotel are loud, though the AC in the room blocks everything out.

I wont sleep well tonight and will gladly pay $30 more next time to stay in a little nicer area. I would not recommend this hotel--simply due to the sketchy area.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The other reviews had me a little scared of the neighborhood but staying at this motel was a very good experience. Everything was clean, well kept and in good repair--better than some higher-priced places. The manager was very security minded--he asks everyone for a photo ID and takes awhile to check it--but I didn't see any signs explicitly warning away prostitutes. We arrived early and the manager said "No problem"--just had us wait until a suitable room was ready and we moved right in with no extra charge. Our early checkout was a little shakier--the lady clearly did not speak English but was eloquent enough in gestures that everything was fine. We will stay here again if the need arises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Tower Hotel many times over the years and find the Tower to be not only inexpensive but also very comfortable, clean, helpful staff, friendly neighborhood, remodeled rooms, ( great TV ), and bus service in front of hotel. Also microwave and fridge in all rooms.

Room Tip: Very good Mexican restaurant just across the street and stores nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very accommodating, rooms are nice....refrigerator, microwave, ice machine, HD big screen TV (with lots of channels). We flew from Florida for a business trip and I was worried about the price...pleasantly surprised!! Definitely, I would not take the time to recommend this place if it was not nice or a great experience!

Room Tip: Only been in one of there rooms...however excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The neighborhood was tough to walk through (the 801 train is a few blocks, 5-10 minute walk) - a lot of people on the streets, got asked a few too many times about my coat... But everything else was surprisingly nice for the lowest price one can pay in Long Beach. Run by an Indian family that was very friendly, helped out after check-out with finding some things left in the room. The room had a clean carpet, remodeled bathroom was very clean, water even tasted better than other establishments on the same street. Big TV and micro, big fridge. Pillows were a little thin, but not bad of a bed. Running fan at night shut out the street noise pretty well. I'll stay here again when by myself in Long Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2206811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Long Beach Airport
1.8 mi away
Royal Inn Motel Long Beach
Royal Inn Motel Long Beach
#27 of 57 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Long Beach City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Long Beach - International City
4.4 mi away
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Long Beach
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Long Beach
Super 8 Long Beach
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Motel Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Motel Long Beach

Property: Tower Motel Long Beach
Address: 421 West Pacific Coast Highway, Long Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tower Motel Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 Miles or 10 minutes to the Long Beach Convention Center, the Tower Motel Long Beach is close to many local attractions including the world famous Queen Mary, Carnival Cruise Terminal, California State University Long Beach, Aquarium of the Pacific, Los Angeles, Seal Beach Wildlife Refuge, golfing, shopping, and more. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers free local and long distance calls within USA & Canada and free high speed wireless or wired internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tower Motel Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Motel Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing