We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal in Long Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tower Motel Long Beach
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good deal in Long Beach”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The other reviews had me a little scared of the neighborhood but staying at this motel was a very good experience. Everything was clean, well kept and in good repair--better than some higher-priced places. The manager was very security minded--he asks everyone for a photo ID and takes awhile to check it--but I didn't see any signs explicitly warning away prostitutes. We arrived early and the manager said "No problem"--just had us wait until a suitable room was ready and we moved right in with no extra charge. Our early checkout was a little shakier--the lady clearly did not speak English but was eloquent enough in gestures that everything was fine. We will stay here again if the need arises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
7
20
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have stayed at the Tower Hotel many times over the years and find the Tower to be not only inexpensive but also very comfortable, clean, helpful staff, friendly neighborhood, remodeled rooms, ( great TV ), and bus service in front of hotel. Also microwave and fridge in all rooms.

Room Tip: Very good Mexican restaurant just across the street and stores nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very accommodating, rooms are nice....refrigerator, microwave, ice machine, HD big screen TV (with lots of channels). We flew from Florida for a business trip and I was worried about the price...pleasantly surprised!! Definitely, I would not take the time to recommend this place if it was not nice or a great experience!

Room Tip: Only been in one of there rooms...however excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The neighborhood was tough to walk through (the 801 train is a few blocks, 5-10 minute walk) - a lot of people on the streets, got asked a few too many times about my coat... But everything else was surprisingly nice for the lowest price one can pay in Long Beach. Run by an Indian family that was very friendly, helped out after check-out with finding some things left in the room. The room had a clean carpet, remodeled bathroom was very clean, water even tasted better than other establishments on the same street. Big TV and micro, big fridge. Pillows were a little thin, but not bad of a bed. Running fan at night shut out the street noise pretty well. I'll stay here again when by myself in Long Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2206811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I failed to read all of the reviews on this property prior to traveling here. I have to say that the rooms were small, but upgraded to modern decor. We rented two rooms one for my wife and I and the other for my mother-in-law and daughter. In my daughter's room when she turned on the AC it smelled like someone had peed in the AC unit. She was forced to open the window instead of use the AC. Despite the no smoking sign on her room and ours the smell of stagnant smoke was very prevalent.

The rooms are very small compared to other motels, but they have been upgraded with granite and tile in the bathroom area. I believe for the price though we would have been better served staying at a Motel 6.

Around 9:00pm I was hungry and decided to order some food. The restaurant across the street served amazing authentic Hispanic food for a very reasonable price. However, my wife was very concerned when I did not return immediately as the neighborhood appeared to be less than upscale and quite possibly dangerous.

When we checked out in the morning the manager was waiting outside our rooms and immediately entered the rooms when I gave him the keys. I felt like we really had an overseer right on our back making sure that we did not steal anything. Not only that there is no waiting area and no lobby to speak of. Just a glass window to shove your id under. I felt like I was at a bank in a dangerous neighborhood.

I would not recommend this place and will not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An0n_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Flawil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

since a few years we are here when we arrive in CA and when we leave. It is a very clean place. Friendly management and stuff. Even when the neighborhood is not the best we feel all times save in this place. We will come for sure again.
Peter B., Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biker758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Despite its extremely reasonable price, which can be less than $50 through partial offers payable in advance and non-refundable, the accommodations were comfortable for a 3-night stay in conjunction with a scientific conference in nearby downtown Long Beach. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the lighting was good. Parking was tight, and late evenings one of the parking gates is closed, so that one must either call the manager to open it, or find a way to back out of the otherwise forward angled parking (tip: rent a small car). No breakfast, and I did not see places very nearby, but I had coffee/breakfast at the conference. It comes with free WiFi, but I used my own hotspot, so I can't rate the wifi service. Manager was friendly. Walls are a bit thin, and one night I was kept awake by a couple arguing for more than half an hour at 2AM; other nights were very quiet.

Room Tip: Room 8 was fine, I'd try to pick rooms 5-10, which are furthest from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Long Beach Airport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
915 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Inn Motel Long Beach
Royal Inn Motel Long Beach
#33 of 57 in Long Beach
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Long Beach
Super 8 Long Beach
#10 of 57 in Long Beach
1,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Long Beach - International City
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Long Beach City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Motel Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Motel Long Beach

Property: Tower Motel Long Beach
Address: 421 W Pacific Coast Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90806-6106
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tower Motel Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 2 Miles or 10 minutes to the Long Beach Convention Center, the Tower Motel Long Beach is close to many local attractions including the world famous Queen Mary, Carnival Cruise Terminal, California State University Long Beach, Aquarium of the Pacific, Los Angeles, Seal Beach Wildlife Refuge, golfing, shopping, and more. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers free local and long distance calls within USA & Canada and free high speed wireless or wired internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tower Motel Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Motel Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing