We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Inn Motel Long Beach
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Got to this hotel late at night. The hotel is in a very very bad location full of working girls and crack users. The hotel manager was very rude and was only interested in taking my money. I did not stay the night even though i pre paid for 2 nights. I was too scared to stay in the hotel. I never recieved a refund for the second night even though i was assaulted by one of the hotel guests as i was leaving my car to go to the reception area!!!!

Room Tip: Please save your money and your life, don't book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    8
    5
    15
See reviews for
8
10
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jmikkel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The bad reviews are true. I decided to take a chance after reading some okay ones. Management are extremely rude, they didn't listen to my request for non smoking room, nor were they friendly to speak with. area is really quite scary in the evening, I wouldn't recommend to other girls. It's about 25min walk to beach.
Pay a little extra and stay somewhere decent!!!!!!!!!! I have paid for 4 nights, having to try to sleep with stale cigarette air is not pleasant!

Wifi and cable is only plus

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jmikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Beach hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

For being a motel, it was just fine. Nothing to rave about and nothing to complain about. We stayed 3 nights at the end of an expensive month long visit to LA, and enjoyed the motels location not too far away from the sights of Long Beach and Signal Hill. For the money, it was a good bargain.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelloFromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Came to this place which was 7 miles from the interstate. I thought it might be a dive because the price was so reasonable, but it was lovely. The room was large and spotless. The bed was comfy and I fell right to sleep. I was impressed that for such a low price, there was even a microwave and mini-fridge. Definitely stop here on your way!

Room Tip: You can't get a better room for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hispamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I apologize for sounding hyperbolic, but this motel is unquestionably the worst motel I've ever stayed in. It's the kind of motel where somebody takes a prostitute, and/or somebody they plan on murdering.

Here are a few details:

*There is no housekeeping. We stayed there for 3 nights, and not once did anyone come in to make the bed or clean up.

*The sign on the door read "Non-smoking," as we requested. Not only did the room smell heavily of smoke, but there was also an ashtray in the room.

*The room was filthy, the pillows were slightly yellow (I can only guess why), and the sheets looked as if they hadn't been washed in quite some time.

*There was only 1 towel in the bathroom, despite the fact that the room was used by 2 guests.

*The bathtub was broken; by the time I was done with my shower, the water in the bathtub was almost up to my calf.

*THERE WAS NO HOT WATER WHEN I TOOK A SHOWER.

It's clear that the owners of this motel take no pride whatsoever in running the Royal Inn, because it's filthy, run-down, and disgusting. Stay far, far away from this motel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryanmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2010

It a very nice a clean place staff makes you feel at home room service its great . beds are always clean and fresh nice and friendly people, pricing its great and you received good service. I love it i defetnely recomended this place to everybody and im looking forwad to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriamayvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

WARNING!!! WARNING!!! WARNING!!!
I reserved a room at the Royal Inn
Motel Long Beach*, *2040 East Anaheim Street, Long Beach, CA 90804, for
Friday June 4th-6th. I flew to California from New Jersey on Continental
flight # CO1502. My flight did not arrive until around 11pm. By the time
I got My rental car and got to the hotel it was after 1am. When i Arrived to the Motel, They told me... It was too late and that they had given My room away. my Confirmation
Number was 19384C275096607.

I felt that if he had booked a room that it would be guarenteed and never
imagined that this would happen. At 1am I had to drive around and try to
find a new hotel room. I feel that this is completely unprofessional. I will recomend ...NOT to Book at this Motel. IM a Very disappointed customer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim_E_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Near Long Beach Airport
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Long Beach Airport
1.8 mi away
Tower Motel Long Beach
Tower Motel Long Beach
#37 of 55 in Long Beach
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Long Beach - International City
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Los Angeles - Long Beach
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Long Beach City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn Motel Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Motel Long Beach

Property: Royal Inn Motel Long Beach
Address: 2040 E Anaheim St, Long Beach, CA 90804-3407
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn Motel Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes to the Long Beach Convention Center, 4 Miles away from Long Beach Airport, the Royal Inn Motel is close to many local attractions including the Queen Mary, Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, Hollywood, golfing, beaches, casinos, museums, shopping, and so much more. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers continental breakfast each morning, free wireless Internet, and free local newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Inn Motel Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Inn Motel Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing