We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low Key - Good Value”

Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Low Key - Good Value”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

glad we did this - not a huge lengthy tour but enough to get an idea of what Long Beach Harbor is all about. $12 per person is a good value.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor B, Manager at Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
We agree at $12 per adult and only $6 per child (ages 3-11) our prices are very low. We do this so that everyone can come down and enjoy what the Long Beach Harbor has to offer. We hope to be seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant trip from the harbour”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We did this trip as part of a deal with the Aquarium entrance ticket. It was a chance to see the Queen Mary from the water instead for from the quayside with a Russian submarine blocking the view. The commentary was good and informative and the view from the top deck of the boat excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubblegtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor B, Manager at Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
The Harbor Tour is a fun filled 45 minute excursion. It is narrated by the captain, he provides a lot of great information during the cruise. There is a bunch of great sights to see as well. We hope that everyone comes down and gives us a try. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stumbled upon this cruise line online while looking for something to do in LGB. We saw a 45 minute cruise for $12 and figured "why not"? The staff is truly fantastic - friendly, fast, easy to pay and jump in line for your boat ride. The boat had plenty of seating, very informative, gave tons of history of the Queen Mary, oil islands, shipping statistics, wildlife, and more. They serve beer, sodas, and snacks and the restrooms on the ship were clean. It was really a fun thing to do and we would highly recommend for anyone to take this trip to learn more about the area. Be prepared to pay $8 for parking, however there are a lot of restaurants and shops in the area, as well as the aquarium. Take the time to walk along the boardwalk and explore. There is also a nice memorial for the USS Frank E Evans near the large flag pole.

You don't go out far, so you may see some sea lions basking in the sun but don't expect whales or dolphins. Go for the informational tour, not the wildlife. If you want to see wildlife, take the longer tours they offer. Reasonable prices.

The ONLY negative is that some of the tourists on our boat decided to start holding cheetos and doritos in the air for the seagulls to swoop down and grab out of their hands while they filmed them on their phones. Within minutes we were completely swarmed with birds being fed by people who have no idea how harmful it is to the wildlife to feed them crappy human food. The staff didn't do anything to stop it and with all the squawking it was hard to hear the narration. Although it was passengers doing the feeding, it really was a distraction and we were disappointed that nobody stopped them from ruining the tour or letting people know in advance what would happen if they did this. Several small children were hanging over the railing to hold out the food which made it hard to relax. Again, it was not the staff's fault but they should do more to prevent this from happening.

That aside, we still plan to take our kids to do this - soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JenK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor B, Manager at Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to be better at what we do. We are excited that you are bringing your kids back the next time. I'm sure they will love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good few hours”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Good few hours, got all the essentials on the boat, had some people from the aquarium who study the marine life to tell you more about them. Trying to look for dolphins more than whales though... Whales are just an added bonus on this trip if your lucky enough to see one!

Helpful?
Thank gambles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor B, Manager at Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise, responded to this review, October 12, 2015
We have been seeing a lot of whales lately. Please check our Facebook page as our crew is very good about putting up pictures and updates in regards to what they have seen from their trip. We usually do see dolphins as well which is always fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Money”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We wanted to get out on the water during our vacation to Los Angeles and decided to head out with Harbor Cruises, in part because they had been making an effort to see the rare masked booby that had been reported nearby. We weren't impressed with the reservation and check-in staff who were unfriendly and not super knowledgeable, but he naturalists on board the boat were excellent. While we didn't see quite the variety of sea life we had hoped (you can't control wildlife, but we made no stops and no information was given about sea lions or birds, despite the fact that the trip was advertised as a Sea Life cruise), it was a beautiful day on the water and we had several fantastic bottlenose dolphin encounters. When I asked about the masked booby, the naturalists had up to the date info and photos, and even though we didn't see it, I appreciated their information. Overall, having done a lot of whale-watching trips on the west coast, this one is a good value for the money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor B, Manager at Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
Thank you for the kind words. The naturalists that accompany us on board are awesome. We appreciate them greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Harbor Breeze Long Beach Harbor Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing