We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gem”
Review of Ellie's

Ellie's
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/15
8:00 PM
Ranked #191 of 1,330 Restaurants in Long Beach
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Off the beaten path near homes and apartments. Drive or walk there. The small plates were small but very delicious. The service was a bit slow, so not a place to go for a quick meal. But good food with outdoor patio. Perfect for a warm fall night.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CrownCitiGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had gone here when it was the At Last Cafe....now it is Ellie’s and wonderful! The chef/owner Jason Witzl is incredible with fresh homemade pasta & an intricate, interesting variety of dishes. A modern take on Southern Italian cuisine. My husband had the delicious Chittara Pomodore with meatballs, shallots & burrata. I ordered the insanely delicious Tagliatelle with jumbo shrimp, Serrano chile & creme fraiche. They also offer fresh fish of the day, black garlic chicken (whole or half), pork chops & steak. Many salads & side dishes as well. Our only complaint would be that the wine is quite expensive, starting at $48 & up. We found out that you can take your own bottle for a $25 corkage fee. Tim was our waiter & was extremely good. Everyone is friendly & helpful. Parking is insane (neighborhood parking only)so be sure to give yourself time to find a spot. Great outdoor patio for dining or indoors. All in all a very nice experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Bebe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Trying so hard to be hip and creative, but ultimately the food was terrible. It took nearly an hour for the kitchen to prepare fish and chips (a special that day) and one pasta dish. The fish and chip were 4 small fingers of mushy cod in a decent batter. The chips were your basic fries you would find at any burger place. Overall the fish and chips were of the same quality as something out of the frozen food section at Von's. But the real disappoint was the pasta dish which was advertised as a carbonara dish. While the menu did describe a dish that was different than the traditional carbonara, what was presented was just plain uneatable. They used serrano peppers I guess in place of black pepper (which is why it's called carbonara) and it had a strong acid flavor, which matched poorly with the heavy salt of the pork, But what was truly awful were the finger tip under cooked pasta bits that not only had a terrible taste but a foul texture. I am Italian and understand the different methods and techniques used to prepare this type of food. But this was, outside of a Papa Johns or some similar place, the worse Italian food I've ever paid for.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bilgerot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

Had dinner there with friends.
Sat inside - lots of flies.
Outside dining on corner just lends to a lot of street dust.
Parking can be an issue so go early.
Food very good. Creative and fresh.
Wine is expensive.
Service good.
It is not a place I would go back to often, but it was nice to give it a try.
Crudo - scallop - very fresh
Oysters - from Alaska - very cold and fresh
Rack of lamb - excellent
Pasta Carbonera - very soupy
Caesar salad - excellent

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

This place was recommended by my Uber driver and it did not disappoint. Went with work colleagues as we are here for a conference and sat on outside patio. Wait staff was amazing. Very attentive, professional, outgoing and gave us some great recommendations and suggestions on the menu. Must try the meatball appetizer and the asparagus side. Both dishes are phenomenal! Great selection of wine by the glass or bottle as well.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank chargersox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellie's also viewed

 

Been to Ellie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing