We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first visit to Long Beach and the Hyatt Pike location. We checked in a little late but were given a upgraded view room because of my Platinum Gold Passport status. When we arrived on the 6th floor to our room we were delighted to see a personalized note from the staff and a chilled bottle of champagne and fresh strawberries and chocolate sauce. The note stated we were the "VIP of the Day". It was quite a surprise and much appreciated. We walked around the area and enjoyed the evening before we headed back to a very modern and comfortable room. Will stay there again if in the area - thanks Hyatt!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a water view
See more room tips
Green Features: Would like to see recycling in the rooms and in the lobby area.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrd4430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    273
    73
    22
    29
See reviews for
185
295
53
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was back in Long Beach for a combo trip of work and personal. I chose this hotel as it's in a great location and had not been to the property. I loved it! My room was perfect. The size, cleanliness and condition was more than I expected. I loved the rooftop pool and enjoyed it twice during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlugay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sour Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is being redone but not a problem for us. The rooms were nice and very clean. Hotel is right by the pier which is convenient. We loved it! They upgraded us to a bay view room which was nice. Parking is $24 self or valet.

Room Tip: Bay view was an upgrade and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had done so much research online when I was looking around at where I was going to stay when we got to the states. When I came across Long Beach I thought may as well check it out then staying some where in the hustle and bustle! I was really happy with the reviews I was reading and did like the look of the place. When I actually arrived I was very impressed with the service and the hotel itself.

Breakfast was amazing and the beds were very comfortable!

One thing my partner learnt was when trying to dial out with the area code or the hotels ext number to make an out going call - be careful as he dialed 911 thinking we were calling up to confirm our pick up in the morning but clearly didn't. All was good which was a relief as we felt very silly but the staff handled the situation very well with us as management has to come up and make sure all is fine.

Great place to stay in Long Beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissgiggles379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It feels almost like a boutique, European style hotel. We had the standard king room, which is a bit small, but the elegant, contemporary furnishings make up for the size. We had a great view of the Queen Mary in the Long Beach Harbor. We opted for the AAA rate, which included breakfast, our choice of room service or dining in the Bay Street Kitchen. We ate in the Bay Street Kitchen, which had excellent, healthy options and the staff was friendly and attentive. In fact, all staff members we helpful and friendly. Also loved the location. Easy walks to restaurants, movies, and waterfront activities, easy drive to other parts of Long Beach. The rooftop pool and bar have a great view, so don't miss those amenities. Parking is $7 a night with in/out privileges, much less than most hotels in the area. My husband and I would both highly recommend Hyatt The Pike.

Room Tip: Bay/Harbor View for a view of the Queen Mary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great hotel, good location (unless you are a beach person - that's a pretty long walk), mostly nice, helpful staff. However, ready their website VERY carefully before booking a room here if part of the main reason you are interested is the rooftop pool and bar. I booked this hotel for our 22 year anniversary because when my husband saw the rooftop pool and bar, he was sold. HOWEVER, the rooftop bar is only open on Saturdays and Sundays, something I did not know when I reserved a room for Wednesday through Saturday morning. The woman at the front desk couldn't even find the hours of the rooftop bar when I talked to her about it - she was very nice and had champagne delivered to us on our anniversary. The bartender could have cared less. She just shrugged and said 'Oh well, you can buy your drink here and take it up with you.' Not the point, lady....and I was disappointed in her total lack of interest. I have contacted the hotel since then, and they did make a SMALL adjustment to our bill, and they said the times ARE on their website. I haven't looked because I have no plans to ever stay there again. Too much money, too far from the beach, and their website isn't super clear, at least not to me and the woman at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAH0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
583 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has undergone some renovations and the lobby is still under remodel. The rooms were great. New and updated. The pool area is nice. Would recommend! Get a great rate on Priceline. Garage is a bit of a hike so you may want to valet park. $23-$26. Great location and you can walk across the street to lots of great restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Address: 285 Bay St, Long Beach, CA 90802-8178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing