We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel for short stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel for short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights prior to our Princess Cruise. The hotel was fantastic the bed was so comfortable had a great sleep, with a large walk in shower. The staff were friendly and extra helpful, and soon knew what we liked to drink in the bar & breakfast restaurant.

The room was spacious, clean & had fabulous views. Some may find that there is not adequate storage space for clothing, for our 2 night stay it was fine. But we did struggle to hang things in the wardrobe due to items stored in there. We had to ask for extra cream for the coffee machine, but this was immediately put in our room. Although, we went up to the roof terrace we didn't stay, due to the bar not being open, suspect this is only open in summer months. But it had fabulous views, including the Queen Mary.

The hotel is well situated, although was surprised on walking to Walmarts, seeing curfew signs on our way. We didn't encounter any trouble though.

We walked along the shore front, and around shoreline village. My only complaint (not to do with the hotel) was that nothing opened until 11am. So we were given no option other than have breakfast at the hotel, which we found served a great breakfast. We found various venues to eat during the day & evening, including an Irish Bar, around the corner. The area in general does not appear to get busy until later in the day. The aquarium is opposite the hotel, and a free shuttle bus runs to the Queen Mary from there.

We enjoyed our stay here & cannot find any fault with this hotel. The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us to San Pedro Cruise port on our last day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    272
    73
    22
    29
See reviews for
184
295
53
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I travel a LOT for business and this was once of the most relaxing and comfortable hotels I have every stayed at! It had a boutique feel to it, huge rooms, amazing bed (wish I had it at home!), superb staff service, especially from Niesha who checked me in and was very welcoming. Very nice quaint bar, perfect to have a cocktail & relax in after a long work day. Location is great for many Long Beach activities and lots of reasonable restaurants in close proximity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel sits within walking distance to the rainbow harbor, the Aquarium of the pacific, many restaurants and not far from many of the other sites in Long Beach. The rooms are comfortable, with great beds, and large bathrooms. The staff was ho-hum except the front desk manager, Dan, who was excellent. The roof-top pool was nice, but the water was a bit chilly. a hot-tub would be a great addition. The lobby bar was pricey and bartender was awkward.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I shall put off explaining the title for a moment because there are so many wonderful things about this hotel. First, our check in was extremely late as we got stuck in traffic, but the staff was wonderful! They checked us in, got us up to our room and WOW! This hotel room was like we were in the future! What wonderful decor! The room was spotless, great views, and awesome showers. I can say that the best feature of this hotel is why I titled it. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! It was like sleeping on a cloud! AMAZING! I wish I had time to explore the area as well as the hotel more, but my trip was a little off on times due to traffic. Please viewers, if you get a chance, stay here, you will not regret it! Did I mention the pricing was fabulous?? It was worth twice what I paid! Thank you Hyatt at the Pike! <3

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Over the past year I started staying here when attending conventions at the Long Beach Center (which I do three times a year) as a quite alternative to the larger and busier hotels in the areas. The location is fantastic, especially for a tourist, and the quality of the hotel is excellent. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, a bit modern but still with a warm touch. The bathroom we had was large and while it didn't have a bathtub, it did feature an over-sized rain fall shower that was great! As a Hyatt Diamond member this hotel has more limited facilities (no Regency Club) and services than most Hyatts I stay at. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a tourist, but less so for a business traveler as their business facilities are, in my opinion, lacking and substandard (can't even plug in anything) and it is located in an area that had a very cold draft. I always find the service in this hotel to be outstanding!

Room Tip: I always get a room in the back where I'm told it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moochiebpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed for one night in February and was pleasently surprised. I have to admit that I'm not a big fan of the darkish design of the W Hotels but the Hyatt is decorated in a similar style and looks pretty good.
The room and all the other facilities are very well layed out and clean. The bar and the restaurant were quiet the night I stayed there but there are a number of restaurants right beside the hotel (including a busy Hooters with their irritating staff dress code). Breakfast was excellent.
The roof top pool and bar looked great on the foto but it was too cold to use this facility.
The staff were very friendly and the check out fast and efficient.
Overall the hotel offered great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRK1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I spent two nights at Hyatt the Pike and really had a relaxing time. Very nice hotel, clean, modern and great showers! Close to restaurants, shops, the Queen Mary, the Aquarium and all kinds of things to do and see. The only complaint, which hardly mattered as I wasn't in a hurry to get anywhere, is that the elevators in the parking structure and hotel are rather slow. so if you're in a rush - hang in there, you'll eventually get where you want to be.

Room Tip: have a great time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#6 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Address: 285 Bay Street, Long Beach, CA 90802-8161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing