We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB HOTEL - VERY COMFORTABLE & CONVENIENT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SUPERB HOTEL - VERY COMFORTABLE & CONVENIENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

After reading such good reviews about this hotel on trip advisor, I was pretty well set on booking and was not disappointed. The hotel really does live up to high standards associated with Hyatt.

From a warm and inviting lobby to the most comfortable bedroom experienced on my trip.

The room is very large and modern... beds were exceedingly comfortable... bathroom was very spacious, clean with a wonderful step-in shower... large desk for working on... spacious cupboard for your belongings... faultless!!

Facilities are also excellent, from the free Wifi throughout the hotel, clean and modern gym, relaxing bar area to the exceptionally competent and hospitable staff.

As far as convenience is concerned, this place surpasses all itself. Multi-storey car park on the opposite side of the road (which the hotel offers a $7.00 a day for)... within one minute walk to the Pike shopping area offering restaurants galore, shopping and a cinema... also the fact that you can walk across a bridge and be at Rainbow Harbour and Aquarium of the Pacific within a five minute walk.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    273
    73
    22
    29
See reviews for
185
295
53
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood Village
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Have stayed numerous times, rooms are well kept and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful; it has a boutique feel which the décor and staff pull off with great success. Great restaurants and To Do's places for the family and or after business are located within a short walk. Like Queen Mary, Long Beach aquarium and the Warf. Just down the street from the PCH which has numerous small locally owned restaurants and the city center. Right at one of the entrances to the Long Beach Grand Prix track street race which is just behind the Hooters across the street. If you’re not into riding up an elevator 30 stories this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nothing like walking 30 steps f from hotel to convention center. Excellent food in bar prices typical for convention area, wonderful restaurants within walking distance great night club area. service helpers wherever you went we're so professional and helpful. looking forward staying here next year for the same show

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I read the reviews on this & other sites, and decided well in advance of my trip to Long Beach to prepay my stay @ Hyatt The Pike. It was well worth it! A stunning transformation from its previous Avia namesake, Hyatt's Pike is a boutique gem, all art-deco, modern, clean & inviting. Its California cool: hip, trendy, but not garish, snooty or uncomfortable.

My room was 710, a "Classic King" with small sofa (and pull-out bed), coffee table, lamps, desk, bar, bed with side ottoman & extra storage, large double-door closet, and gorgeous marble bathroom w/a stunning walk-in shower complete with rain & body showers. Less than 400sq.ft. designed with purpose, efficiency & mad style. Check out the swinging TV set, viewable from the bed or the sofa! I LOVE this room! 2 sets of windows that open, overlooking the main courtyard on Bay St, and w/views of the pedestrian bridge, marina, Queen Mary, and various retro-tastic parking garages and palm trees. If all of this appeals to your sense of style, ask for 710.

A 10-min walk across the bridge takes you to the great Aquarium, amazing seafood @ Bubba Gump's along with many other bars & restaurants, the walk-around pier at the marina (get to Lighthouse Point for spectacular shots of the harbour, the Queen Mary and the cityscape), or stay on ground level and walk to nearby Pine Av for terrific bars, clubs, restaurants & shopping. Or take the awesome Passport Bus, a FREE downtown shuttle among all of Long Beach's major tourist stops and downtown businesses. Yes, free. Why don't more cities do this!?

All in all, Long Beach impressed. Its a beautiful, dynamic, sunny escape 20 mins from LA; its a city of 500,000 ppl but feels intimate, and is a breeze for walkers. The Hyatt Pike gives you the friendliness & one-off feel of a trendy local hotspot (staff are uber-helpful, especially Niesha!) but w/the sophistication of a 5-star hotel under a trusted brand; the 8th-floor rooftop pool is small but pleasant, and offers terrific wraparound views of Long Beach; the fitness centre is 24-hrs; the main bar features numerous wines and tapas; and the main restaurant specializes in local, seasonal fare, and the breakfasts (especially the varied oatmeals, or the apple-topped french toast) are superb.

One stay @ the Pike was all it took to know where I'm booking again next time i'm in the South Bay!

Room Tip: High floors facing Bay St offer quiet & unspoiled views of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJSHOWBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

During my five day stay, all staff members were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. Great pillows. Housekeeping was very responsive. The view of the bay was great, from the room and the pool. Beautiful pool area with a bar. Great bar area in the lobby. Restaurant service was great with a reasonable variety of options. The price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a night in Mid December- The room was clean and well put together. The staff we encountered were great and helpful. I love how they made the best of the small space.

There isn't a jacuzzi, and in the winter the windchill is a major factor that prevented us from using the roof-top pool.

It is within walking distance of shops and places to eat, and right across the street from the Aquarium. Could be pricey, but isn't so bad if you look out for discounts. They offer a winter rate, and a AAA rate, which help a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. I've been impressed by the design of the room, very nice and peculiar. The bathroom with a large rain shower is very nice; the bed comfortable (even if the mattress was too soft for me, but it could be ok for other people). The room service is perfect, room and bathroom always very clean. The location is perfect, close to a large variety of restaurants and pubs and just 10 minutes walking from the beach. I didn't have the breakfast included, and it was quite expansive to have it in the restaurant. At the top floor there is a nice swimming pool with heated water and a nice view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Address: 285 Bay St, Long Beach, CA 90802-8178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing