We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Albans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

no complaints, the staff were friendly, check in was efficient. Parking charge was reasonable compared to some of the other hotels we stayed on this trip. The room was fine, clean and a good base for what we wanted to do in the area. Had some noise from next door with loud TV but it was dealt with quickly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    257
    68
    20
    27
See reviews for
175
274
50
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casey, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was an excellent hotel. The Concierge Desk was extremely helpful and friendly. We found the hotel conveniently located with excellent directions provided for our excursions. The hotel was beautiful, clean and had VERY fast elevators! Although not on a sandy beach, it is close to the water. The Queen Mary, theaters, small shops, a marina, and many restaurants were close by also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I were once again very pleased with our stay here . . . if you are working at the Long Beach Convention Center and want to say at a hotel that has more of a boutique feel to it . . . this is for you! Exactly the kind of quality one would expect from an upper-end Hyatt hotel . . . plus the prices relative to other hotels in the area, including the Hyatt Regency, are very competitive.
The walks to many of the local attractions are very short and only minutes away, and there are a lot of good restaurants in the area. Cannot wait to come bank!

Room Tip: join the Hyatt gold program
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moochiebpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have never stayed in any hotel before where I thought the bed was better than mine! It was ridiculously comfortable! I never wanted to get out of it! I liked everything about tihis hotel. The location is fab. A couple of minutes walk over a pedestrian bridge to all the restauants and aquarium. Breakfast was extra but very nice - the berries with granola and yoghurt was huge - you won't need anything else. The roof top pool was nice with a smashing view over Long Beach. There is a convenient car park next door which was cheap by Californian standards. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel or staying there again.

Room Tip: Go for the 'stand by' upgrade for the extra $9. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0urnem0uthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Jenni was our server at Bay Street Kitchen She was so amazing! She took care of every us from the time we came in to the time we left. She made us feel so comfortable and recommended some delicious breakfast items! I would definitely go back to the pike and her again! My husband and I were so amazed by what a charming girl she is! We've been there a few times and this was definitely best experience at the pike and the Bay Street Kitchen! Can't wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmiapepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently purchased a prepaid night at this Hotel through their website, thinking it was a reputable place to stay and booking through their website for a sail package that SHOULD have included parking. It DID NOT. Not only did it not include the parking for the cruise but I also had to pay for parking the day of my stay. All they told me was that there was nothing that they could do. This makes no sense to me and sure enough they refused to do anything about. If you stay here expect to pay for parking. I have stayed in Long beach a few times and have never had issues with the many hotels within the blocks radius. I would suggest Renaissance that is less then a block away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fbpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last month while taking a quick day trip to Catalina Island. The hotel is in a great location, right by the water, mall and aquarium. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I really had wanted to check out the hotel pool during my stay, but unfortunately the pull was closed due to a private wedding. I told the front desk my disappointment as this was part of the reason I chose this hotel and they gave me free drink coupons at the hotel lobby bar. I was very happy they did so and the bartenders made some amazing cocktails. The room was absolutely beautiful with a great layout that was modern and sleek. If you are planning on staying in Long Beach, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 5,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#9 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach

Property: Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Address: 285 Bay St, Long Beach, CA 90802-8178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing urban sophistication and easy beach culture, AVIA is Long Beach’s must-stay boutique hotel. With 138 rooms + suites, AVIA dons details like lush beds with Italian-cotton coverlets and marble bathrooms. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the Kitchen + Lounge. Soak in the sun or stars on the hip and haute Rooftop 360° with pool and spectacular views. Located downtown and an easy walk from the Long Beach Convention Center, historic Pine Avenue and Aquarium of the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing