We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Euro Botique Hotel is the Gem of Long Beach”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
1 review
“Euro Botique Hotel is the Gem of Long Beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I cannot say enough about this hotel. The owners and staff are out of this world. Talk about treating your guest like "guests"! We were pampered and all were concerned that we were having a great stay. talk about one seriously cool hotel -- not your typical place to stay. a little off the beaten path but worth the trek. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone - business or leisure traveler. an absolutely phenomenal experience! I am looking forward to my next business trip to Long Beach just so I can stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    190
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
55
302
149
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We needed a place to stay while visiting family in Long Beach and stumbled on The Varden. Wow - what a find! The owners/staff are so friendly and wonderful. The hotel is clean, modern, and well appointed. Wine tasting in the evening. Continental breakfast in the morning. Bottled water offered every time I came in from a run or shopping. It's got the feel of a bed and breakfast without being one - which is the best part in my opinion. I can't wait to go back. It's made our family visits to Long Beach a whole new proposition!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This newly remodeled quaint hotel close to all restaurants. (Pine Stree only 2 blocks away) as well as walking distance to all of the downtown Long Beach events held every weekend as well as the Aquarium and the ferry to Catalina. The beds are VERY easy to sink into along with flat screen TV's and high tech climate controls in every room. Staff is wonderful. Wine and coffee available for free. Ample parking for your vehicle. Rooms are big enough for 2 people only. This hotel was built in 1927 but has been remodeled for exreme comfort for todays expectations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonDoerr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

In the Downtown corridor, accessible to all of downtown by walk. Kind and curteous staff. Not a big name hotel chain but treat you very well. Beds are very comfortable. I will definitely stay there when i go back to Long Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psballin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I always dread staying in hotels because of I am an allergy and asthma sufferer. I was truly amazed because my breathing was completely clear. The rooms are cleaner than any place I have ever stayed. I love the staff, they made me feel at home and safe. I was really sad to leave!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

"Attention to Detail" is what comes to mind now that I completed my stay at the Varden. Owners and Hosts Larry and Charles have created a friendly, stylish, clean and comfortable place to stay in Long Beach. From the moment the glass doors slide open you are transported from the sidewalk into the cool white lobby "Welcome to the Varden".

Larry, Charles and staff are very forthcoming with local information and are more than happy to schedule dinner reservations, provide directions, arrange transportation etc. It is rare to find such amazing customer service.

A convenient coffee and breakfast area proved to be a nice social gathering spot each morning with other guests and Larry always on hand to engage conversation.

My first floor room was cool and refreshing and the bed was extremely comfortable. The flat screen tv and ipod adaptable radio completed the details in this modern and functional room. I stayed 4 nights and will stay again the next time business brings me to the Long Beach area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I've never stayed at a cooler hotel. The whole thing is a renovated old building, but full of high-tech and high-quality stuff. LCD TVs in every room, neat AC/heat units in every room that operate via remote control.

The rooms are very small, but very welcoming and cleverly organized and partitioned. They've got good coffee in K-cup form downstairs whenever you want it, and the employees are very friendly and helpful.

Their rates are good, and they've got some history to offer. It's likely you'll meet the owners while you're there. Can you believe that still happens?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walk_n_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing