We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean with helpful staff. But a bit like staying in a sterilized egg carton.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean with helpful staff. But a bit like staying in a sterilized egg carton.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived following a shorter than expected journey ( so a little early) we were welcome to check in early which was great. First impressions were good and the staff were helpful and ready with suggestions of things to do in the area and places to eat. The decor was white, white, white very clean if a little boring. Then came the room, they have to be the smallest I have ever stopped and the bed was tiny. I only have a small butt and even I struggled to get one cheek in the bathroom it was soooo tiny. Overall the place lacked any kind of character. Pity because the staff were top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    187
    40
    19
    6
See reviews for
55
301
148
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent 2 nights recently at the Varden. Perfect place that delivered everything they said on their website including their morning continental breakfast and the afternoon wine and snack. Walking distance to many resturants. The only slight negative is the bed - too soft for me but most likely OK for many others. Much better than all the large chain hotels nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went to Long Beach for an overnight stay to attend an art opening and after arriving we wished we could have stayed longer. The historic building was charming and the interior design was modern and chic. The room was a bit small if comparing to the typical hotel room, but the functional design accommodated all of our things and it was quite comfortable for my husband, toddler, and me! The bed was very cozy and comfortable, too! Everything looked and felt, expensive. The service, however, was the best! Everyone we met was genuine and accommodating which is a rarity these days! We have recommended The Varden to our friends and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrya729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great boutique hotel in Long Beach with a reasonable room rate. All the staff were extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. Nice lobby and sitting area where there is continental breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks in the afternoon. Rooms were a nice size and very clean, however, the shower in our room was very tiny so beware! There is no elevator but the staff eagerly offer to help with luggage. Overall, my husband and I were very pleased. We would definintely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bigger shower, if possible. If not, be sure to bring a shower cap if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre_and_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you enjoy exploring/experiencing new cities, enoying its history and quaintness, and trying to get a 'feel' for it -- when in Long Beach, DO choose the Varden. It is just full of character and marketed as a boutique hotel, which it is! It's cozy, clean, and in a good location for walking to the restaurant and bars, as well as riding the buses around the city. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful! Just awesome service as all other reviewers have noted.

The only reason I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the shower - which was exceptionally high on the wall and unadjustable, so it wet my hair when I didn't want it to. Taller people might not have the same problem, but just so you know........ Also, remember, there is no elevator. We were ok wth this, but just so you know before you go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForFutureTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This "boutique hotel" is quaint and very accommodating. The rooms are clean and modern keeping the character of the building and also having hints of the contemporary. The staff are simply said, "amazing!" They take a personal interest in providing care and comfort and making this place a "home away from home." I highly recommend The Varden and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went for a conference at the Long Beach Convention Center. The rooms were well-kept and well designed to utilize the small, but never cramped space. The decor was minimalist, but with enough personal touches (the orchids in the lobby, the sliding mirror/bathroom door) to keep it away from "Ikea" dorm-room shabby-chic. The complimentary wine and breakfast was much appreciated and led to a great social atmosphere. Some of the snacks were closer to after-school snacks, but that's a minor quibble. Some other minor things: thin walls meant that I could hear the animated argument of the couple next door (great for nosy gossips like me, but maybe not everyone) and thin floors meant that I felt like I was walking on egg shells not to make too much of a racket, a tiny hint of an overly sanitized smell; however, the service more than made up for it. I will remember the exceptional level of service more than any of my petty little quibbles. Larry has assembled a capable and friendly staff that truly looked after the guests. Throughout my stay, I had an opportunity to talk to almost every employee and was always charmed by their friendly and gracious manner. When the occasional complaint (or homeless person) arose, they always handled the manner with as much tact as possible. Adina, Norman, Zach, and Jose were always friendly and were willing to engage the guests as if they were life-long friends. More than anything else, they are what make the Varden great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing