We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Disappoints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Good location, European feel, very clean, great beds, lush towels, and the best staff! It's nice to know that every time my husband and I revisit it's a top rated experience. The staff make you feel like family and they're always glad to help you with anything you need. We visit Long Beach at least two times a year and we don't ever give it a second thought to stay anywhere else. The Varden is a hidden jewel in Long Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    186
    40
    19
    6
See reviews for
55
301
145
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at the Varden for one week during a conference. The room does not have a closet, which made things a bit cramped for such a long stay. For a single person for only a couple of nights, it would be fine. The bed was too soft for me, but many people consider that a luxury, so I won't knock it. On the positive side, the staff was EXTREMELY courteous and helpful, and I received a personal email from the owner thanking me for my stay afterwards (and it was clear that it was not a batch email and he knew exactly who I was). Also, free wine tastings from 5-7 each day! Who can beat that!? Overall, I had a very pleasant stay and would consider it again, though I do prefer a slightly less "luxurious" bed and a bit more space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at the Varden on a business trip to Long Beach because I wanted to stay an extra day after to see some of the area. It was an easy and safe walk down to the Aquarium and very close to a bunch of great places to eat. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating and the rooms, though small, were quite clean.

I'd say I'd stay there again, but I already have! Upon my second visit, i was pleasantly surprised to find a handwritten note in my room welcoming me back. You just don't get service like that in a large hotel. I hope I have an opportunity to return to southern Cal again soon since finding a place to stay is already taken care of!

** This review is actually from Summer 2011 (May and June) - review requires a date, but only let me choose back one year. Yeah - a little late on this review! **

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherinColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Yes...this is the place to stay in Downtown Long Beach! The hotel is boutique and the owners are on site taking care of your every need along with the very pleasant staff. The rooms are clean and crisp. They have a continental breakfast, fresh fruit always available, a lovely wine tasting in the evening. The buildings in Downtown Long Beach have so much history and this hotel shares in that fun history with a new updated tone. The rooms are not huge but they are immaculate and the staff being so 'at the ready' makes that a real non-issue. I will definitely stay here again because with any travel it's how a hotel takes care of your needs and this place goes above and beyond.

Room Tip: You can hit Gold's Gym right up the street at a discounted daily rate so ask about that deal if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, SD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was in Long Beach recently for a conference and stayed at The Varden hotel. The hotel is charming and as is the staff, and the price is very reasonable considering the location and all the amenities, etc. Plus their customer service is outstanding. Our room was clean as could be and very comfortable. We needed to reschedule our shuttle for the airport and the staff went above and beyond to help us out of a jam. For all these reasons and more, I would highly recommend The Varden.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've spent a bit of time in Las Vegas, but this was our first time staying in Long Beach. My girlfriend and I were absolutely stunned with the amazing staff and knowledge of the area they all possessed. They were very accommodating and helped us out everyday. Whether it be suggesting restaurants or aiding in public transit, they really seemed to know everything! The rooms were slightly small, but everything is what you make it. We'll certainly be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tailoredfamcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was in Long Beach for a conference and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Varden. The staff went out of their way to welcome me and were extremely helpful with information about the area. The room was small, but tastefully decorated and the building has been updated nicely. I chose to walk 15 minutes to reach the LB Conference Center and enjoyed the opportunity to explore the neighborhood with many excellent restaurant and bar choices. I plan to visit again and treat my wife to a get-away-weekend.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room next to the stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichS813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#10 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#7 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing