We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Varden Hotel to your Saves list
The Varden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ingram
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff at this hotel has got to be the friendliest group of people in the industry. The rooms may be small, but the everyone on the staff is fantastic. Where else do they great you by name, with hugs after you haven't been there for 2 years? I wish our trade show was in Long Beach every year. Staff is very knowledgeable about the city. I love old buildings and it's great to see Larry's updating of this 1920's hotel with modern conveniences while still preserving the history. They are close to the convention center and Pine street eateries.

Cindy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravelingstitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    172
    36
    17
    6
See reviews for
50
279
139
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is my favorite hotel at Long Beach and we have been back every year for the last 5 years when we attend a Long beach convention. Nice walking distance from the city center and convention center. Plenty of restaurants and shops close by. Modern European style rooms, very neat, comfortable and clean. Coffee, tea facilities, fruits and snacks near the lobby area adds to the convenience. Hands-on owners and staff are super friendly and always very helpful. Amazing service beyond many 5 star hotels. We travel a lot around the world and this is one of our favorite hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lipss041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been staying at the Varden for many years and I can tell you it is the best value in Long Beach. It is European style, so expect compact. But apart from that the bed is comfy, the amenities are great, the location is perfect. But best of all the service that Larry (the owner) and his staff give is literally second to none. They treat you like family from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave. I wish Larry taught customer service to people at the bank.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcopena12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evening Shade, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I just visited the Varden for the second time and the experience was wonderful. I was in Long Beach for a trade show--which was fun, but stressful! Coming home to the Varden at the end of a long day provided a peaceful respite once again. Their staff was wonderful and Charles and Larry are more than gracious. Wishing them the very best on their new endeavors!!
Lisa K.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very much enoyed the hotel and the amazing guest service. The front desk was friendly, accomodating and knoweldgeable about the area. For such a small operation they rival the quality of a 5-Star Chain. Kudos to the owners and the team. The rooms are also quite fun.
Needed a few extra blankets as it was cold - which was very surprising. They were brought up right away.

Room Tip: The Queen Room is worth the few extra bucks. All the rest are full size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a great hotel and very centrally located within walking distance of most of the attractions. While the rooms are not massive, there is nothing lacking in them, they are spotlessly clean and comfortable. A continental breakfast was also provided which while not huge was a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great hotel! Love the evening wine and snacks. I've stayed here multiple times when in Long Beach and it's a great value. Very close walk to great restaurants and nightlife. The customer service is beyond anything you'll get from a typical corporate chain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#5 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing