We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, Comfy and Very Very Friendly”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My team and I stayed here back in September. Larry Black and his team at the Varden have done a great job of restoring the hotel. I can honestly say that I've never met more friendly, genuine and helpful hotel staff than those at the Varden. The hotel is a short walk from the Long Beach Convention Centre and makes a really nice change from the faceless, corporate hotels that line Ocean Boulevard. Yes the rooms are compact but the are clean and fully functional. A nice idea is the free wine-tasting each and every afternoon and the coffee and fresh fruit available 24-hours a day. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Long Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 918 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice boutique hotel in easy walk to the Long Beach convention center and restaurants. Wonderful front desk staff, comfortable bed, coffee and fresh fruit available 24 hours/day. Wine and snack happy hour. I would definitely stay again if I am back in LOng Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is sort of in the European spirit, sort of like a Novotel out in Europe. The room is ultra square, a bit spartan, but if fully functional. Good bed, TV, bath and all. They have an afternoon wine tasting with treats. In the morning there are mini cupcakes, with juice, oatmeal, bananas, and apples. More than enough to get some fill. You can get fresh coffee at any time of the day. The really important thing is the super, super staff that is always available for your help and advice. The place is very clean. The place is also right at Los Angeles' "metro" tram that can take you to the LAX airport for $5. I can't comment about the parking since I have no car. Overall, I would absolutely definitely stay here for any meeting in Long Beach.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground level, and had no problems. The door to the coffee area is closed in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This ultra modern hotel is very comfortable if not a bit on the cozy side. The bed was a full bed, so sharing it was quite interesting. The shower is very small as well. But all-in-all, this hotel is very comfortable and clean, newly renovated, and feels very European. They offer complimentary beer/snacks/wine every evening which is a nice touch. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in Long Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My gf, who grew up in LA but had never been to the Varden, recently stayed at this boutique hotel. It was very quaint, had mucho history, and had the Most Friendly staff ever~!~! Melissa Fisher, Adina Powers, Mike Chavez and Jose Castillo were all eager to provide directions, snacks, extra complimentary room service, or just lend an ear when we wanted to blab. We were also privy to a delightful little nook just behind the front desk area where we could enjoy coffee, hot chocolate, even a glass of wine.

While the rooms Are small as mentioned by a few other guests, the ambiance is worth checking out. The location is superb and there are numerous night spots, restaurants, and even the beach is only a short jaunt away.

We would recommend this for those looking for a bit of a different flavor and something "out of the box". Enjoy~!

Room Tip: Urban room, top floor~! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phish56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night in October 2012. The reception was very amiable (we were offered a complimentary glass of wine upon arrival). Free parking is a nice perk. Rooms are rather small but comfortable enough for a short stay. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Small breakfast buffet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room was rather small but accommodated our needs. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have found in any hotel. Location was perfect for any and all activities in long beach.
I will book my next long beech vacation at the Varden.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $167 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing