We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Varden Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rodeway Inn(Long Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveler rating
691
196
42
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
196
42
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallboutique hotelhighly recommend the vardengold's gymcontinental breakfasteuropean stylecomplimentary wineconvention centereuropean feelno elevatorpine streetdowntown long beachyogurtbottled waterbusiness tripbusiness travelerenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 956 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Living on Catalina Island, my husband and I frequent Long Beach as a break from island life. This hotel is perfectly located in Downtown Long Beach and well within walking distance of the East Village Art District, as well as an array of great shops and restaurants. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the bed was just a dream. Perhaps the most impressive thing about this chic and modern hotel is the hotel staff. Everyone went well above and beyond to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Every staff member greeted us with smiles, offered complimentary glasses of water and coffee and were attentive to our overall experience. With so many large chain properties in Downtown Long Beach it was a true pleasure to patron an independently owned hotel where the staff and ownership take such pride in the quality of service and product they provide.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The most amazing staff I have encountered in a hotel. Nothing was too much for them. We wanted to order a pizza and they had an account. We wanted a taxi they called. We wanted to call our airline they assisted. They even gave us 2 double rooms because there were no twin beds for my mother and I. Really comfortable beds and bright rooms. It's a perfect space for touring around southern California. Wine tasting is a bonus. Would totally come back
Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldholdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Varden recently and were extremely happy with all aspects of our stay. The accommodation was very clean and the complimentary breakfast a great start to the day.
However the “outstanding achievement award” would have to go to the staff they could not have been more helpful and friendly…nothing was too much trouble…..from where to do the best shopping to how to get to Anaheim by public transport!
Should we ever return to Long beach our accommodation WILLL BE The Varden Hotel.
Thank you Varden

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snowmumyub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We've traveled quite a bit over the last 10 or so years and we've never been so pleased as we were with our 3 night stay at the Varden. Yes, the room was very small - rather like some we stayed in in Europe - but very clean and comfortable. We think its outstanding feature, though, is the staff. Larry, Melissa, Jose and Adina could not have been more helpful. Always friendly and cheerful, they added so much to our enjoyment. It was certainly a happy experience. Thank you Varden!! Joan and Bill

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor, but be prepared for exercise on the stairs ...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Originally built in 1929, this reborn Urban gem was suggested by the Delta Sky Miles folk. A trip for the solemn purpose of memorializing a colleague and friend in the vicinity followed by another meeting 1 hour away was made more comfortable by this unique boutique Hotel. Upon my arrival, I was greeted with the original rooftop marquee proudly announcing "The Dolly Varden Hotel - A Bath In Every Room." That beacon, soon to be brought back to its original best, made me smile. The staff is happy to greet guests personally, and is attentive to requests, is knowledgeable about the area and eager to please. My single room was smaller than those of large chains, but in keeping with the Hotel traditions of the 1920's,= when the building catered to the Naval yard clientele up the street.. Everything was new and fresh--very tech-savvy and bright: windows really open to the fresh air, an HE air conditioner is super quiet and efficient for my space; the appointments from HD flat screen TV to the minimalist desk, chair, sink and lighting , complimented the comfortable platform bed. All of this reminded me of a Cruise ship cabin for one, perfect to reflect the Naval history -they who once used the Hotel. A wine bar (good cab and chard) and munchies is offered from 5-7 pm nightly; a breakfast bar is open daily (and throughout the night)--as part of the daily rates. On site outdoor parking for a modest fee is an option which competes well in a city where parking is premium. While I appreciate the large chains and resorts, I am equally happy to enjoy a property loving brought back to life--especially in this day of impersonal and corporate indifference. I will be back, next time with my wife to enjoy it and the Pacific Avenue (should I say Melrose?) neighborhood which The Varden graces.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews