We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Bath in Every Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Bath in Every Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Originally built in 1929, this reborn Urban gem was suggested by the Delta Sky Miles folk. A trip for the solemn purpose of memorializing a colleague and friend in the vicinity followed by another meeting 1 hour away was made more comfortable by this unique boutique Hotel. Upon my arrival, I was greeted with the original rooftop marquee proudly announcing "The Dolly Varden Hotel - A Bath In Every Room." That beacon, soon to be brought back to its original best, made me smile. The staff is happy to greet guests personally, and is attentive to requests, is knowledgeable about the area and eager to please. My single room was smaller than those of large chains, but in keeping with the Hotel traditions of the 1920's,= when the building catered to the Naval yard clientele up the street.. Everything was new and fresh--very tech-savvy and bright: windows really open to the fresh air, an HE air conditioner is super quiet and efficient for my space; the appointments from HD flat screen TV to the minimalist desk, chair, sink and lighting , complimented the comfortable platform bed. All of this reminded me of a Cruise ship cabin for one, perfect to reflect the Naval history -they who once used the Hotel. A wine bar (good cab and chard) and munchies is offered from 5-7 pm nightly; a breakfast bar is open daily (and throughout the night)--as part of the daily rates. On site outdoor parking for a modest fee is an option which competes well in a city where parking is premium. While I appreciate the large chains and resorts, I am equally happy to enjoy a property loving brought back to life--especially in this day of impersonal and corporate indifference. I will be back, next time with my wife to enjoy it and the Pacific Avenue (should I say Melrose?) neighborhood which The Varden graces.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    180
    40
    18
    6
See reviews for
53
294
141
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were looking for convenient, affordable and easy and ended up with much, much more at the Varden. The rooms (bright, airy and funky) were a refreshing change from the usual boring hotel room; the location was ideal for exploring (the pike, Shoreline Village, retro row); and the staff made us feel like long-lost friends (Jose - thanks for going the extra mile, Melissa - thanks for the wine tasting that turned into a cocktail party, Larry - thanks for breakfast!). We loved our four days at the Varden. It wasn't just a place to stay, it was an adventure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holliskDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at the Varden for a few nights last week. It was a pleasant surprise to find this historic hotel in great condition after a rennovation. The hotel is in a great location close to convention center, the pike, and the pier! The hosts at the hotel were great and very welcoming. I stumbled upon this hotel when all the other big chain hotels were sold out. This is a great alternative to the "big" chain hotels and has an intimate atmosphere with excellent service. I will definitely consider staying at the Varden next time I am in Long Beach.

DH

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

do you eat mass-produced food? do you drive a Ford Focus? do you drink Budweiser? do you wear Garanimals? then The Varden is not for you. It's groovy -- mod-Euro design. It's indy -- the only independent boutique hotel I could find in Long Beach, and the owner is there and he cares. It's handy -- good location, self parking right there, wifi, stumble-in breakfast room with yum-joe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Jose, Melissa and Larry are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. Tea, coffee etc provided 24 hours and great complimentary continental breakfast. Thanks for a wonderful stay. I would book a bigger room on the upper floors next time as we had suit cases but minor detail.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camdencarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was in Long Beach for a conference and had missed the opportunity for discounted rooms at the big hotels right next to the convention center. I found The Varden and it turned out to be perfect! Though the rooms are small, my double was perfect for me. Every convenience was accounted for in a neat and classy package. The free breakfast was perfect to grab a cup of coffee with my colleague before heading to the convention center, a short walk away. The bed was incredibly comfy, the free wifi worked well, and the service was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

A boutique hotel is designed to put everything you need in a beautifully designed very small space. Varden's rooms are small. The double I stayed in was perfect for me but would not be comfortable for my large sized husband and I together. The bathroom fixtures, bed, and built in furniture are top notch and classy. The bed is very comfortable. The neighborhood doesn't feel unsafe, but there are not coffee places, restaurants or stores nearby that I would frequent. When I first saw the hotel, I thought it was one of those old hotels where older men on disability live--a "wino" hotel. I expect it was at one point--but it has been completely renovated. Very nice to have parking next door. I would come again. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#6 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#8 of 57 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Avenue, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing