We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Queen Mary
from $110.00
More Info
from $400.00
More Info
from $197.95
More Info
Reviews (3,040)
Filter reviews
3,040 results
Traveler rating
1,153
991
485
211
200
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,153
991
485
211
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen mary glory days great ship tours qm suite porthole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 3,040 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2019

In Long Beach for a business trip, and decided to stay on the QM for a night before traveling home. Rented a Deluxe King room and found it to be comfortable and spacious. Everything worked, but would not be consider it luxurious by modern luxury hotel standards. There are some modern updates like television, air conditioning, and electric outlets. The room had many of the original fixtures and fittings, including wood finishing, vanity, (non-working) original electric fan, and (non-working) taps for salt water in the bathtub. It's a testament to the build quality that an 85-year old vessel is still comfortable to stay aboard. I especially enjoyed opening and looking out the portholes in my room. I would stay again, but rent a more luxurious room such as a suite next time.

While onboard, I took the time to do several daytime tours: glory days, steam and steel, and haunted encounters. All were good tours, and hotel guests get a small discount on a package of all three tours. All the tours do a reasonable job of showcasing parts of the ship that one cannot normally visit. Glory days was good, but did not visit some of the more elegant ballrooms because they were in use for private functions. Haunted encounters was good, but we could not visit inside the 1st class pool which would have been nice since it is not open to explore individually. The tour did not go through the isolation ward, another spooky part of the ship, but that can be explored individually. The steam and steel tour of the engineering spaces was excellent and seemed the most complete of the tours in terms of covering its topic. Overally, an enjoyable set of tours of the QM that were well worth the visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank RoadLessTraveledx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for joining us on the Queen Mary. We are happy to hear of your wonderful experience aboard. We appreciate your positive feedback as it lets us know what our customers enjoy most about the Queen Mary. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019
Review of: The Queen Mary

Great value for proximity to the Long Beach Convention Center, even with the surprise $25/night to park and about the same in additional fees. The quality and vibe reminds me of the Raffaello in Chicago or the New Yorker in Manhattan. It ain't new, and something's bound to be askew. On the Queen Mary, the real charm is found outside the room. Art Deco Paradiso with ideal SoCal fall weather on deck. Great for strolling at night amid drinks and dinner and running cement stairs in the early AM with nary a soul in sight. There's just enough preserved authenticity to make an evening on board worth the inflated cost of dining and drinks. Professional bartender works the Promenade bar. Staff at Sir Winston's also cosmopolitan.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Alger_Chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for joining us aboard the Queen Mary and for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your thorough review, as it is feedback like this that allows us to better understand where our guest services can improve. Customer satisfaction remains a top priority to us and we are sorry you were not met with our true hospitality. We hope you will consider joining us again to discover all the Queen Mary has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019

We really enjoyed seeing the ship. The wood planking on the deck and all the intricate wood detail on the walls and stairways was amazing to think how fancy this must have been for its time. It looks just like you'd imagine an antique luxury cruise ship would look. I'm sure it must be used in movies! We ate at Sir Winston's and the food and service was fantastic. The best thing was a lavender martini...oh my goodness!!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank 264BeachFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2019

Hi!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time aboard! We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

We were excited to see the Queen Mary, given its historic status and reputation. Unfortunately some areas rather let the visit down. The areas that you can visit are fantastic; the engine room and isolation ward being particular highlights. Unfortunately the ship has been extensively remodelled over the years, and lots of areas are lost and/or inaccessible to the ordinary visitor. It would have been great to see various classes of cabins for example, and also have access to the swimming pool and first, second and third class recreation rooms and lounges.

Overall, the visit was enjoyable, but could have been improved with more areas being open to view. It’s also deeply disconcerting to see a Starbucks plonked in the centre of a “historic monument”- this seems a wholly unnecessary addition to a beautiful structure.

Can’t really recommend the café either- food was expensive and average in a rather run-down setting.

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank BigAndy5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, General Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for visiting the Queen Mary. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to better improve our services. We will address your concerns accordingly, as customer satisfaction remains a top priority to us. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019
Review of: The Queen Mary

It's a gorgeous ship that I booked a night in the ship with my girlfriend. It had a lot to see but that's about it. It was expensive and there were a lot of taxes and fees that came along with the stay that made the stay more expensive than it should have been. I recommend this place for the novelty for a night but not long than that.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank peternX7152TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QM1934, Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for joining us aboard the Queen Mary, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We have passed along your feedback to the appropriate department so we may better improve our guest experience. We hope to see you aboard in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews