We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting a little tired but worth a visit”
Review of The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.89*
and up
The Queen Mary
Ranked #5 of 84 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Old Hollywood glamour. A rich maritime history. Authentic 1930s Art Deco décor. The Queen Mary is a full-service Long Beach hotel, historical landmark, and entertainment venue featuring award-winning restaurants, historical attractions, numerous special event salons and 346 staterooms. The Queen Mary gives a unique glimpse into an era when steamships were the most regal way to travel.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Getting a little tired but worth a visit”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Well, it's a big ship. It's worth a visit but it is getting a little tired. The upkeep must be enormous..brass to polish..woodwork to wax..i'm sure it costs a fortune..but they should spend a little more on it to bring it back to it's former glory.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    779
    375
    167
    139
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Old Queen Still Quite Grand !!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Take the Tour and check out this Legend, its so Grand even from a distance !
Leave at least 2-3 hours or more to visit, and it will bring you back to the good old days
of sea voyage. DO NOT Forget you camera, even if you do not board and take the tour,
you can park and take pictures up close.
you can also visit a Soviet era Sub next to the Queen, sub tickets extra.

The city of Long Beach is Beautiful, lots of places to eat in ALL Price range close by.
Plenty of things to do with in walking distance, starting on Ocean ave,
do not miss this area, 30 min to LAX, Close enough to drive to Hollywood, Beverly Hills and all so california Attractions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“If you like cruise ships it's worth it”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Interesting to see how people cruised 50-plus years ago. It took me about an hour to go through the ship - but I'm fast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bringing History to Life: My Teen Loved It”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We didn't want to leave! We were drawn in by the beauty, magnitude, accessibility and, of course the ghosts. My 13 year old loved the ship. We spent the day on board poking all around the ship from stem to stern (uh, yeah, I don't think that's right). Anyway, from the top to the bottom and everything in between - and I'm sure some places we were supposed to go.

We did participate in the haunted tours - two of them - and they were great. One was for fun but the other had history and made the Queen Mary come alive. The shopping area is beautiful and the wood and glass and details are so amazing. We ended up staying for a light, late dinner and finally tore ourselves away.

I don't think I have ever climbed so many stairs - so plan accordingly - but it was so worth it. It's one of the best memories of our trip.

Tips: leave yourself plenty of time to just sit and take in the sites. Imagine being a passenger so many years ago. Look at some of the books they have on board to learn more about everything the Queen has been through. I spent a lot of time post-trip reading about her history. Now I want to go back - so a quick read before will likely make your visit even better.

Have fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Iconic Must-See”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great attraction whether you're taking the self-guided tour or one of the many guided tours. The ghost and legends tour is a family friendly, short and quirky tour which is included in most admissions. Plenty of great photo ops as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen Mary also viewed

 

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing