We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.89*
and up
The Queen Mary
Ranked #5 of 84 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Old Hollywood glamour. A rich maritime history. Authentic 1930s Art Deco décor. The Queen Mary is a full-service Long Beach hotel, historical landmark, and entertainment venue featuring award-winning restaurants, historical attractions, numerous special event salons and 346 staterooms. The Queen Mary gives a unique glimpse into an era when steamships were the most regal way to travel.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went to Long Island to see the Queen Mary and it was a huge disappointment, the boat has been stripped of any of it’s original charm and replaced with tourist tack (red phone box on the decks). It is also hugely overpriced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    760
    369
    164
    136
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“a waste of time.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Overpriced at $25 a person. One basically just wandered around aimlessly on the ship until one got tired of wandering. At that price, at least a guided tour would have been appropriate.
It explained why there were only about 10-15 tourist on the whole ship while I was there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kcchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's past it's time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

For the price, it just wasn't worth the effort. The location is okay and not bad if you are leaving or coming back from a cruise. For a "one time shot" it is probably worth it, but if you are a repeat visitor like I was then it's just not worth the second trip

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We traveled down to Long Beach to see the Queen Mary hoping to see some of that wonderful tradition of the golden age of travel. What a shame to find that this grand old lady of the oceans seems to be being neglected and slowly deteriorating to a point where i believe soon it will not be retrievable.

I found it shocking to see that shops selling tacky ornaments and generally rubbish items that I think everyone could live without had been allowed into the grand lobby.

The cafe's seemed unwholesome and the swarms of flies all over the boat is deeply concerning as to its cleanliness

We had hoped that we could have experienced seeing in some of the grand rooms but on the whole none of these were open for public view. Not even a glimpse in any cabins only some mock ups of cabins at the back of the boat.

I am afraid that the City of Long Beach is doing this attraction no favours at all.

I only hope that they can recover this wonderful piece of maritime history before it is too late.

To add insult to this then paying $15 to park the car for less than 3 hours did not help.

Generally felt ripped off and feel that the amount of money to visit this attraction is not being used to maintain the boat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Planewreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
715 reviews
413 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Princess Diana Exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I absolutely loved this exhibit on the Queen Mary! I have slept on and toured the ship twice, but went again for this very special exhibit. It's so much more than just the Princess Diana Exhibit since they have handwritten letters by Queen Mary, the Queen Mum, Queen Elizabeth, Princess Diana, and Charles, George VI (King's Speech), Philip. To list a few of the things on display, there are: many newspapers with stories beginning with Queen Mary and King George V, through Queen Elizabeth's parents, the bombing of Buckingham Palace, Elizabeth's reign, wedding of Diana and Chas, birth of the princes, their split, Wm and Kate's wedding. There are dishes from the Royal Yacht, a rare letter by Princess Margaret, many beautiful Royal Worchester porcelain figurines of the royal women (from Queen Victoria to the present), wedding and dinner invitations, a birthday party invitation in Diana's hand, Christmas cards signed by the royals, dolls and mannequins with copies of the royal dresses, and the backup wedding dress for the Duchess of York (Fergie), which I thoroughly enjoyed seeing. Also dress sketches, a copy of the spectacular black gown Diana wore and caused a stir. There's a garden bench from Highgrove, copies of Diana's diamond tiaras, lots of royal souvenirs from weddings, coronations, the palaces, etc. Three of Charles' watercolors are on display, also dinner menus, the shoes Helena wore in the King's Speech, the Queen Mum's handbag and beautiful letter opener with many photos of her from 1900-2002. A large doll is dressed in an exact replica of Diana's wedding dress and there's a full-size replica of her bridal bouquet. There are many more things to see, plus the beautiful dresses that Diana wore in a separate room, and a room with Kate's clothes, etc. I was really impressed with all of it and think most followers of the royals will enjoy it. I heard a group talking about the cost of the ticket ($35) and all of them were agreeing it was worth it. I only paid $25 through Goldstar and my ticket was for all day 10-6. One can tour the rest of the ship on the same day. Parking is a bit steep - $15. We went on a weekday at 10 a.m. and there were no crowds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen Mary also viewed

 

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing