We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best motel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best motel ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We are traveling a lot, and have been seen different hotels and motels. We must admit that this motel was the best one we ever stayed in. The view was gorgeous. The stuff was friendly, well-organized, and helpful. The room - WOW! There was brand-new everything – furniture, pictures, freshly-painted walls, huge TV, ironing desk, fan. There was even a tray with a soft bottom and coffee-cup hollow, to take it into a bed with you!
The breakfast was amazing, with diverse and, which is important – healthy – meals. The breakfast room is big and comfortable. The last but not least to mention – the price was totally reasonable.
We don’t have enough words to thank the owners and the personnel for such wonderful beginning of our vacation. Since than, we stayed in 3 more places around Death Valley during this trip. Two of them were OK, one – horrible. Every time we were sorry only about one thing – that we were unable to move the Best Western with us to every new location…

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    685
    204
    35
    22
See reviews for
518
711
124
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This has been my favorite motel in the chain. The view is superb , the service excellent. It is very clean and quiet. But this time all the charm is gone. it is just a regular dark wood business style motel. It used to have a wonderful fun movie/ western charm to the rooms. Now that is gone and it is cold and ordinary. Just the usual standard motel like all others. It is a big disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nancysT3019JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

As usual BestWestern offer great rooms. No exception this time, room was clean, beds were great. In the morning you eat nice breakfast while watching sunrise lighting up Mt Whitney. The only problem was WIFI. Our room was very far from main office so we could not connect to internet. I had to walk back to office to connect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff at the check-in was polite and helpful. The check-out the next morning was ok. The staff one talking to somebody else while doing everything. Felt like I was bothering her. But overall experience is good. If you pass through Dead Valley I think that the best spot if you want a confortable stay. It's worth the milage because the hotels/motels a really bad inside the park itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Frontier motel recently. As Best Wester Diamond members we received a room upgrade to a HUGE king room. Everything about the room, and the counter staff was first class.

The breatkfast the next morning was fine. However, the breakfast room was jammed. The layout of the breakfast service area is not efficient. This is complicated when the room is full of people.

The room was relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast was not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenage, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room was very spacious and comfortable. The only criticism of this hotel is the breakfast. An extremely small breakfast room considering the number of rooms, and the hotel was full when we stayed there. The quality of the breakfast is very bad. I would recommend that clients find a diner or a bakery in town to eat a real meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaB04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had another great visit... Margarita always goes out of her way to accommodate our Family. I just know when she assists all goes smoothly. However, I have also noted all the personnel from front desk to housekeeping are very friendly.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
16.6 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing