We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best in Lone Pine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reno, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Lone Pine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Clean updated rooms with a little western charm. Friendly service and a nice lobby area with a good hot breakfast. Convenient location for lone pine activities. Near the turn off to Death Valley. I travel here often for business and it is the only place I will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    625
    196
    32
    20
See reviews for
463
643
114
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burlingame, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Overall, very good; clean, friendly, quiet, comfortable. Only negative was the breakfast greasy meat sausages, floating in oil. On one day there was no hot breakfast; on another, no fresh fruits. Egg cheese omelets were great. views from the pool of Whitney were spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nikita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The facility is very clean, inside and out. They take great pride in their facility and it shows. The beds are comfy and they are very accommodating when something is needed. This is our favorite place to stay while traveling on Highway 395 in the Eastern Sierras.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This motel had some pluses and minuses that averaged out to a 3 star:

Pros
- clean, bright rooms
- decent shower pressure and warm water
- free fast wifi access
- free hot breakfast (includes pancakes, cheese omelette, sausage meat, lots of pastries, cereal, bread, yogurt, etc. all you can eat)

Cons
- room heater is very loud, and so is the fridge.
- motel is beside a major road, so might be noisy depending on room location
- it's a far walk from the Main Street of Lone Pine, so definitely only suitable for those with cars as there are no restaurants nearby

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dahokolomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Typical nice stay at a Best Western. Room nice and clean, bed comfortable, and room quiet. TV has the average number and variety of channels. Bathroom is very big and well ventilated. Towels a bit on the rough small side. Assigned parking right out the door. Friendly helpful staff. They know the community. Hotel a half-mile long walk to town. Breakfast very good for a freebie. This was a "know what you get from Best Western" stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Hwy 395 for quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been coming to this hotel for 45 years, since I was 3 years old. I've seen physical changes to it such as a higher overhang by the lobby for RV's to transition, in addition the redecoration of rooms (such a great western theme). But with the exception of once, years ago, the service and cleanliness has always been top notch.

This past visit, I was greeted by two women, Margaret and Lupita. Both were a plethora of information to the questions I had regarding the hotel and it's upcoming remodel. And such friendly people to "come home to" after a long day on the road.

I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for very comfortable rooms, good service and a great location. In addition, as is now the rates are reasonable (around a hundred bucks). I hope this doesn't change.

Green Features: If you would like your towels changed, leave them on the floor.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Pine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The look, cleanliness, and overall quality of this property has improved over the last two years. This is our first choice of accommodations in the Lone Pine/Whitney area. The motel is very conveniently located near town, restaurants, and access to the Whitney Portal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
16.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing