We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in almost everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best in almost everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was not the fanciest motel but the service and attention by all employees made it a super 4 day visit. Everything was clean and the bedding and bath towels smelled fresh and did not have that bleach motel smell. Ashley and the other girls in the lobby plus all the kitchen help were polite and just made everything pleasurable. We WILL stay there again on one of our road/photography trips and other Best Western employees can take a lesson from them.

Room Tip: Because the adjoining mountains were where cowboy movies were films if one is old enough sleep in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    685
    204
    35
    22
See reviews for
518
711
124
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay there. The room was very clean and cozy. I must say the staff there was so cordial and helpful. We were especially impressed with Victoria , the office clerk. She went out of her way to accomodate our needs. The landscape was very well kept. The swimming pool was very clean and heated with a lovely sitting area. I will recommend this Best Western Plus to my friends and family. We look forward to staying there on our next trip to or through Lone Pine.
Most sincerely,
Susan

Room Tip: All rooms have designated parking which is very convenient .Every room has easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

In the rain shadow of the eastern Sierra and at the quiet end of the small town of Lone Pine, CA is a motel with ammenities and views that will give your vacation a jump start. Be sure to work with Victoria Rico, Guest Service Representative, she will make your stay special and help you with all your needs.
This hotel has speciality rooms or suites for those who love Zane Gray and Louis L'Amour and all the cowboy heros, e.g. John Wayne, Lone Ranger, Gene Autry and others Hollywood idols. Nearby are the Alabama Hills where many of the old and some of the new westerns have been filmed. Just a block or two away is the highway to the trailhead of Mt. Whitney, the tallest mountain in the continential United States. Nearby is the road leading west to Death Valley and north of the motel is the road leading the Bristle Cone National Forest, home to oldest trees in the world. A warm breakfast and a smile from the staff of the hotel will get you started on your vacation. Say hi to Victoria Rico if you get the chance.

Bob and Georgia (repeated guests of this motel)

Room Tip: Ask to see the suites and the rooms with a view of the mountains on both sides. Select a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is the third time my husband, our dog and I have stayed at this motel in 6 years. It is consistently clean, in good repair and quiet. Our room was large, bathroom roomy, and beds quite comfortable with plenty of pillows. Although it is conveniently right off the highway, it is not close to downtown area. It is a few minutes drive to restaurants and shopping. The breakfast was typical free breakfast fare of eggs, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, cereal. The eggs were not good. The one exciting exception was a press button pancake maker. Now, that was fun and delicious.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the south side, away from the swimming pool, all three times. No pool noise there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer1448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and our dog stayed one night at the Best Western in Lone Pine during a recent road trip. The hotel is on the south side of Lone Pine with nothing immediately surrounding it or within easy walking distance. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, since it made for a quiet stay; something very important to us for sleeping. There are a number of restaurants in Lone Pine itself which the staff can direct you to. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the hotel itself is one story (no worries about anyone above you pounding on the floors) and, although the exterior appears dated, the grounds were clean and well-kept. Our room had two comfortable queen beds and was very spacious and clean, with all ammenities working. Our daughter enjoyed a swim in the pool. The hot breakfast was very good with choices including omelets, sausages, scrambled eggs, even a machine that makes pancakes at the push of a button! The staff did a great job of keeping the breakfast area clean and well-stocked, but the sitting area is on the small side so you might want to time your breakfast to miss the rush. We didn't have too much contact with the hotel staff but everyone seemed friendly, helpful, and professional. Lone Pine is a stepping off point for Death Valley, and a beautiful view of Mt. Whitney awaits you at the front of the hotel. All-in-all, a wonderful little hotel and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel has a lovely view of Mt. Whitney. The check-in staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was pretty small, though the bathroom was enormous. It was clean and quiet. The hot breakfast was quite extensive - eggs, meat, yogurt, fruit, cereal, bagels, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed one night at the Best Western in Lone Pine on a multi-day motorcycle tour. The room was clean. The bathroom was large and modern, appeared to have been recently re-modeled. The motel appears to be fairly old but it is well kept and very clean, we would not hesitate to stay there again and probably will. We arrived very late and I called ahead and they held our room for us, but even better yet they mark the parking spots with the room number. So we were able to park right in front of our room which is great for unloading a motorcycle after a long day of riding. Why doesn't every motel do this? Very convenient location, easy to walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
16.6 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing