We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We LOVE sweet Victoria and the crew!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Downey, California
1 review
“We LOVE sweet Victoria and the crew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second stay here. I have never had an experience like this stay ever at any other hotel.. We stayed for two nights and we find it very comfortable and safe. They have just upgraded their TVs to flat screens the front-desk clerk Victoria is so helpful and friendly. My boyfriend and I meet half way from our homes about every month and we choose Best Western because we find it vey clean and new and spacious rooms. While having breakfast we met a lot of the crew and they were all so friendly. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We asked for the best room in the house! and they came trough with a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    620
    196
    32
    20
See reviews for
461
641
114
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Long long car ride from Las Vegas saw us stopping in Lone Pine. It was hot the day we arrived so the pool at this complex was a welcome bonus plus it was still bathed in sunshine in the late afternoon. The hotel complex is older but the rooms are clean and spacious with wi fi and a complimentary breakfast served in the morning.

Mt Whitney faces the hotel and looks fantastic in the morning with the morning sun hitting it, quite a photo opportunity. The Western film industry has quite a history in this town and its worth stopping at the museum to see some of the films that were made in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Victoria was so kind to me. She really made me feel welcome as a guest. She is always cheerful and so accommodating. She is a real asset to this resort.

Many thanks to all the staff for finding room for me to stay a second night when the hotel was booked. The room is so clean and comfortable. Thank you for providing a great visitor service to the community. This is a very nice place to stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Impossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, CA (USA)
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff is friendly and will make every effort to get you in early or store your stuff so you can head up the mountain. It is always clean and comfy. I love the tables and chairs outside where you can have a drink and watch the sun set over the mountains. The breakfast is great.Best place to stay in Lone Pine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a great motel. It is a series of older buildings but everything inside is updated; it has lots of great travel features: pool, good breakfast area and serves beginning at 6 am; (time to see sunrise against Mt. Whitney right out the main driveway); pet friendly; laundromat; barbeque; microwaves and frigs in the rooms; beds were super comfortable and our room very quiet. I have stayed here several times over past 5 years.....always come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Riveroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here on a Friday night. This was my fifth stay at this motel over the years. As usual, the check in and check out were fast. This is an older Best Western, but it has been upgraded with such amenities like LCD televisions. We had a quiet room in the back of the property. (Room 157.) The two queen beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and we had a quiet night's sleep. All staff encountered were polite, courteous, and friendly. The view of Mt. Whitney nearby was spectacular, and there was even some snow at the top of the mountain. There is a gym located at this Best Western, but I did not use it because we did a lot of hiking up on Mt. Whitney. In the morning, we arrived in the breakfast room at approximately 8:50 a.m. We began to eat, and decided we wanted some pancakes with our meal. My girlfriend stood in line behind four people at the pancake machine to get, of course, some pancakes. People were commenting that the pancake dispenser was empty. My girlfriend asked the breakfast hostess, who was sitting nearby, if she could get us a few more pancakes, or at least some pancake batter to put in the pancake machine. The hostess replied, "I'm not allowed to put out anymore food after 9:00 o'clock." I pulled out my i-Phone and saw that it was now exactly 9:00 a.m. If this is indeed the policy set by management, at least when the post office closes exactly at 5:00 p.m., it still will take care of the customers who are at the counter. And the Best Western Plus Frontier Motel is a private business, who should care even more about satisfying the customers' needs. In any case, the breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of food, even if we did not get to enjoy our pancakes! There were complimentary issues of the Los Angeles Times that guests could take with them in the morning. No doubt we will be staying here again when near the Lone Pine area.

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are located away from U.S. Highway 395 near the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
21.7 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
16.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing