We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Eastern Sierra Birding Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    651
    201
    35
    22
See reviews for
488
677
117
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Van Nuys, CA (USA)
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff is friendly and will make every effort to get you in early or store your stuff so you can head up the mountain. It is always clean and comfy. I love the tables and chairs outside where you can have a drink and watch the sun set over the mountains. The breakfast is great.Best place to stay in Lone Pine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a great motel. It is a series of older buildings but everything inside is updated; it has lots of great travel features: pool, good breakfast area and serves beginning at 6 am; (time to see sunrise against Mt. Whitney right out the main driveway); pet friendly; laundromat; barbeque; microwaves and frigs in the rooms; beds were super comfortable and our room very quiet. I have stayed here several times over past 5 years.....always come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Riveroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here on a Friday night. This was my fifth stay at this motel over the years. As usual, the check in and check out were fast. This is an older Best Western, but it has been upgraded with such amenities like LCD televisions. We had a quiet room in the back of the property. (Room 157.) The two queen beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and we had a quiet night's sleep. All staff encountered were polite, courteous, and friendly. The view of Mt. Whitney nearby was spectacular, and there was even some snow at the top of the mountain. There is a gym located at this Best Western, but I did not use it because we did a lot of hiking up on Mt. Whitney. In the morning, we arrived in the breakfast room at approximately 8:50 a.m. We began to eat, and decided we wanted some pancakes with our meal. My girlfriend stood in line behind four people at the pancake machine to get, of course, some pancakes. People were commenting that the pancake dispenser was empty. My girlfriend asked the breakfast hostess, who was sitting nearby, if she could get us a few more pancakes, or at least some pancake batter to put in the pancake machine. The hostess replied, "I'm not allowed to put out anymore food after 9:00 o'clock." I pulled out my i-Phone and saw that it was now exactly 9:00 a.m. If this is indeed the policy set by management, at least when the post office closes exactly at 5:00 p.m., it still will take care of the customers who are at the counter. And the Best Western Plus Frontier Motel is a private business, who should care even more about satisfying the customers' needs. In any case, the breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of food, even if we did not get to enjoy our pancakes! There were complimentary issues of the Los Angeles Times that guests could take with them in the morning. No doubt we will be staying here again when near the Lone Pine area.

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are located away from U.S. Highway 395 near the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Pine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We showed up at 4M after being nearly blown out of out campground in a windstorm. When we walked in, Victoria and Marguerite gave us a hot breakfast and made special arrangements to allow us to stay an extra hour so we could get some much needed sleep after what we went through earlier in the evening. Victoria also made sure we knew where the Lone Pine Visitor Center was so we could be prepared going into Death Valley the next day. The breakfast was good, the rooms were crisp and clean, and the bed was super comfortable. It really is the little things that make a difference. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveWPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had an oversized room. Very comfortable and clean. Beds were comfortable. Great Wifi. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast included plus fantastic view of Mt Whitney with all the color at sunrise!

Room Tip: Liked the oversized room. Very spacious for three or four people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylou1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great find in a great small town with fantastic views. This was our second visit to Lone Pine but first to Frontier. We stayed here as an overnight stay on a road trip to North California. Great welcome from the young girl at reception. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. We made use of the laundrette which had two washing machines and driers which were very reasonably priced. Breakfast was adequate but unfortunately served in plastic. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
24.1 mi away
Rustic Oasis Motel
Rustic Oasis Motel
#3 of 3 in Olancha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing