We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night in November 2012 when passing through from Yosemite National Park to Las Vegas. Checked in about 9pm, watched President Obama win re-election and then went to bed. Woke up, had a very filling breakfast in the communal room and then checked out.

Room was small but comfortable. Even though the motel was on the main road out of Lone Pine, there wasn't too much traffic noise (not enough to keep us awake). Room was very clean and suited our needs perfectly.

Breakfast in the morning was amazing. There was a fresh pancake making device that popped out pancakes in about 60 seconds. Had a few of those and some toast and some cereal. And a couple of glasses of fresh juice. Also took some juice and water for the road, as we were heading through Death Valley in the morning.

Overall, would definitely stay here again when passing through Lone Pine in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice motel. Didn't have a security lock which was surprising. Bed had a well used body dent in it. Room 7. Breakfast was fine. I read a previous review about black bananas. I thought they were being picky until I went for breakfast. It really does turn your stomach to see such black and bruised bananas. I would rather they not have any than to think they don't care about what they put out there. Pancake machine instead of waffle which was interesting. Overall a fine place but not a "Plus"

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yachtdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I would have given it a higher rating except for the woman in charge of breakfast. She was dirty. I saw her wipe her runny nose with her bare hand and then wipe it on her pants and then handle food! Ugh. She needs to be fired! I would not eat there. They had one extremely old black banana that needed to be replaced with wholesome fresh ones. Come on people, we deserve better! More than one rotten banana in that bunch! Bad bad bad! Shame on you! Get rid of that woman or retrain her and you would get all high marks from me.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melonrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTP93545, General Manager at Best Western Plus Frontier Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hello,

I am sorry you had this experience at our establishment. Unfortunately I am unable to offer any recourse to you such as a refund, or description of punitive action taken so that you may have an update, because as often is the problem with tripadvisor there is no way to find out who posted something they were upset about. If this matter had been brought before us at the property it would have been handled promptly, instead it is put here ambiguously with no chance to right an obvious wrong on our parts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Victoria Rico went out of her way to get my last couple stays at Best Western put on my new enrollment. She didn't want me to loose any of the points I have already earned. Thank you Victoria!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The rooms are all one story with drive up to the door.
Asked for a quiet room, and was next to a remodel job, with hammers banging at 8am..
It was clean and appeared to be newly remodeled.
Bathroom fan rattled with the wind all night.
Hotels in Lone Pine are all lower end types, and you get a hot breakfast, so at $89 a night, was the best of what was available.
Cons is that it is right on the highway where there is a lot of 18 Wheelers, so noisy..
BUT
the view of Mt Whitney is out the door!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the highway, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The beds were very comfortable, the wireless was fast, the fridge worked great, nice hot showers, and a pretty view of the snow covered mountains just outside the door. Breakfast was also good. Super nice people working here. Our initial room was very smokey & unpleasant, but they quickly moved us to a nice smoke-free room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

At first glance the property looks like any other motel of a certain age in a small town. Turn your head and gaze over at Mt. Whitney, highest mountain in the lower 48, and you will be glad you chose this place. While the outside of the building is somewhat dated, the interior of the room is pleasant, clean, and quite large. The beds are firm and comfortable and the flat screen TV is huge. The free breakfast is ample with a large selection and is a good way to get the day started. You will be glad you stayed here. Take lots of pictures of Mt. Whitney as it is truly an awesome sight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
722 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
899 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
85 reviews
16.6 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Frontier Motel

Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range: $71 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing