We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not sure of Plus status” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
WPB, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not sure of Plus status”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice motel. Didn't have a security lock which was surprising. Bed had a well used body dent in it. Room 7. Breakfast was fine. I read a previous review about black bananas. I thought they were being picky until I went for breakfast. It really does turn your stomach to see such black and bruised bananas. I would rather they not have any than to think they don't care about what they put out there. Pancake machine instead of waffle which was interesting. Overall a fine place but not a "Plus"

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yachtdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    634
    198
    32
    20
See reviews for
474
651
114
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I would have given it a higher rating except for the woman in charge of breakfast. She was dirty. I saw her wipe her runny nose with her bare hand and then wipe it on her pants and then handle food! Ugh. She needs to be fired! I would not eat there. They had one extremely old black banana that needed to be replaced with wholesome fresh ones. Come on people, we deserve better! More than one rotten banana in that bunch! Bad bad bad! Shame on you! Get rid of that woman or retrain her and you would get all high marks from me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melonrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTP93545, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry you had this experience at our establishment. Unfortunately I am unable to offer any recourse to you such as a refund, or description of punitive action taken so that you may have an update, because as often is the problem with tripadvisor there is no way to find out who posted something they were upset about. If this matter had been brought before us at the property it would have been handled promptly, instead it is put here ambiguously with no chance to right an obvious wrong on our parts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Victoria Rico went out of her way to get my last couple stays at Best Western put on my new enrollment. She didn't want me to loose any of the points I have already earned. Thank you Victoria!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The rooms are all one story with drive up to the door.
Asked for a quiet room, and was next to a remodel job, with hammers banging at 8am..
It was clean and appeared to be newly remodeled.
Bathroom fan rattled with the wind all night.
Hotels in Lone Pine are all lower end types, and you get a hot breakfast, so at $89 a night, was the best of what was available.
Cons is that it is right on the highway where there is a lot of 18 Wheelers, so noisy..
BUT
the view of Mt Whitney is out the door!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the highway, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jshanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The beds were very comfortable, the wireless was fast, the fridge worked great, nice hot showers, and a pretty view of the snow covered mountains just outside the door. Breakfast was also good. Super nice people working here. Our initial room was very smokey & unpleasant, but they quickly moved us to a nice smoke-free room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

At first glance the property looks like any other motel of a certain age in a small town. Turn your head and gaze over at Mt. Whitney, highest mountain in the lower 48, and you will be glad you chose this place. While the outside of the building is somewhat dated, the interior of the room is pleasant, clean, and quite large. The beds are firm and comfortable and the flat screen TV is huge. The free breakfast is ample with a large selection and is a good way to get the day started. You will be glad you stayed here. Take lots of pictures of Mt. Whitney as it is truly an awesome sight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

All things considered - location, price, cleanliness, service - this hotel is great. And the restaurant food is excellent, which is a huge plus when you're tired after skiing and don't want to go out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
16.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing