We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel as it should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in this motel for one night on our way from LA to Death Valley and to other CA/NV attractions down East. Lone Pine is very nice small town with great place nearby. I mean Alabama Hills. As for my opinion Alabama Hills is much more beautiful and cosmic-like scenes along 8 miles(!) than places we saw next at "well-advertised" Zabriskie Point. Any way ... Frontier motel is very modern, clean and well-maintained property with friendly stuff and If some day you find yourself in Lone Pine than go to this place. One more advise: stay away from Pizza Factory on main street because it is not a pizza at all... human being should not eat their e-e-e... "products" to stay in human body.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeyTripAdSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jwwanderer39
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed there for three nights during the Thanksgiving holiday. The room we booked (two queens with a sitting area) was nice and big. The breakfast items were limited for large numbers of guests, 4 sausage patties for 20-30 people at a time. The hotel is not walking distance from the center of the town and was very dark at night. There were some noises from Highway 395 when sleeping. The front desk staff were friendly and pleasant. Merry Go-Round Restaurant is a good place to eat.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank DreamLake8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed one night on the way to Bridgeport. Great place and good breakfast. Pet friendly too. will definitely stay here again if we have the chance to. Rooms were clean and large enough for all 5 of us and our dog.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Only stayed for one night while exploring Alabama Hills. It was one of the nicest motels I've stayed in for quite a while. People were friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and orderly. Got up too early for breakfast and left shortly afterward. Wireless worked well. I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I return to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryGohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I really enjoy staying at Frontier Motel over the years when I am traveling to Lone Pine and southern part of the Owen Valley. It is a great hotel, wonderful folks, very good breakfast. Nice rooms, etc. The only downside and a critical one for traveling business folks...the wireless interenet service is poor at best. I was disconnected four times in one hour while trying to work via gottomypc and logmein...both system did not stay connected due to poor interent connection at my computer. This recent trip I was in Room 102 less than 10 feet from the main office.

For me to stay hear in the future, they must do something about the internet connection. As a businessperson it is vital for me to be able to access my home/office based computers while traveling.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The back end away form the highway (395)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTP93545, General Manager at Best Western Plus Frontier Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your review and your visit with us. I completely understand you issues with our internet. Hopefully you will be able to experience our new system in the future and review that as well. We have a new wireless internet system being developed specifically for the layout of our motel and are hoping to have it completed by the end of January to alleviate these continuing problems. Also, by the end of 2013 the Digital 395 federal sponsored project will be completed which will finally bring high speed service to our community.

Travel safe and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for over 50 nights in the past and will stay there
again without question. We do notice that the grounds are not as well kept as when
a gentleman by the name of Paul cared for them. Also the hotel staff doesn't seem as
professional as it used to be. Did this hotel change owners? This is still our hotel of choice for out trips to and from family & friends in So. Calif.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank CHUCK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
898 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
114 reviews
16.6 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Frontier Motel

Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range: $71 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing