We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive early!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night prior to hiking into the Inyo National Forest. We arrived after midnight and the clerk did not have our reservation information. She didn't seem to care that we had a confirmation from hotels.com and this website, nor that we had driven almost five hours on a Friday night with the knowledge that we had a reservation. She eventually cleared up the situation, but the hassle left both of us angry. Why make reservations if a motel "doesn't have it or can't find it"?

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketohike79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Room: clean, comfortable, had small fridge, tea making facilities (in the bathroom though), TV, air conditioning, nice powerful shower, complimentary shampoo etc. provided as well as towels

Facilities: heated pool, open until 9.45 in the evening, didn''t actually use it, but looked OK, towels provided by pool. Ice machine, allocated parking space just outside room.

Breakfast: basic continental. help yourself buffet, reasonable variety, cereals, eggs, sausages, muffins, tinned fruit, porridge, scones, waffles, toast. All crockery etc. plastic as all was disposable. Many people were eating outside in the picnic area which was nice as there was fantastic views of the mountain range.

Overall: This was a standard motel, we had no problems and would recommend it. Lone Pines is a small town, restaurants seemed expensive so ended up eating at McDonalds. Small supermarket available.

Places to Visit: Would definately recommend the drive up to Mount Whitney, amazing views.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyandZak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The service is good the amenities such as the coffee in the room is great..The gym I use in the morning.Also I would like to mention the breakfast that is set up by Toni is a great start of my morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the BW Plus in Lone Pine. We met the new manager, Travis, when checking in. He graciously offered to hold some rooms for the following night in case the family members we were meeting at Whitney Portal weren't there after 16 days of hiking the John Muir Trail. Luckily that wasn't necessary as they were at WP as planned, but it was nice to know we had a back up. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed with whirlpool baths that we didn't try, but looked like fun. There was plenty of coffee fixings along with a coffeemaker and fridge. The breakfast was superior to most including: waffles, bagels, cream cheese, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, pastries, donuts, fruit, cold cereal, and biscuits & gravy. We also met Emily, the night clerk, who was as sweet as can be. In fact, we found all the employees to be friendly, helpful, and efficient. We would recommend this place to everyone and would stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stay here all the time, everyone that works here is friendly, the view is spectacular, the rooms are comfortable and Mt. Whitney and the Alabama Hills are some of the coolest places in the whole world. It's a great hotel and a great place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I was very impressed for such a small town - the cleanliness and furniture was impressive. I was especially touched that Margarita was such a HUGE help. I was coming in on a very busy weekend and needed the Monday as well. It is very rare that a staff member actually calls you back (as she said she would do) and help me book the Monday when a cancellation came in. The follow up and consideration by Margarita would bring me back to Best Western Lone Pine. My two children loved the comfort of the room and the pool. I would come back (if I climb Mt Whitney again)!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunutoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mart-123p, Owner at Best Western Plus Frontier Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thank you for staying with us, we strive to provide superior customer care to all our guests. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to your future patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel has always been a favorite as Lone Pine has so much to offer and is in an ideal location between San Francisco and Las Vegas. We then travel through Death Valley from here. We have done the tours of Alabama Hills, the trip to Mt. Whitney. The hotel is clean and good breakfast and lovely views of the desert and mountains. Now when we watch old movies you say "that is Alabama Hills". Museum is also good there. Good choice of restaurants in town also.

Room Tip: Any room is good the new wing on the outside have a good view of desert and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanMijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
892 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lone Pine Budget Inn & Motel
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Frontier Motel

Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range: $86 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing