We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try & definitely will return”

Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Highland, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Must try & definitely will return”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were in a group of 8 and all of us ordered something different and only one person finished their meal because the portions are HUGE! They have baked goods and breads-which I bought to bring home-oh so good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    127
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hang a star on this one ...”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Two hours south of Mammoth Mountain on 395 you'll find Alabama Hills Cafe in the town of Lone Pine. It's one block off the main road -- so you need to know to look for it. They serve breakfast and lunch only (close at 2 pm, I think) and it is obviously a hangout for the locals. Outstanding breakfasts and lunch sandwiches big enough to share. All the help is very friendly, pretty fast service, although you may have to wait for a table if you arrive in peak times. The Roy Rogers BLT is a hunger-buster! Prices are significantly higher than fast food places, but so is the quality. Don't get me started on their display of fresh baked pies ....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClarkGriswold099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family and I ate here for lunch before heading up to Mount Whitney. They are only open for breakfast and lunch, so we were fortunate to come through when we did.

The menu was pretty extensive, which made it hard to decide what to order, but what we did order was fantastic. While we waited for our food, we eyed the plates of other diners, and all of the dishes looked amazing.

We also bought a loaf of freshly baked tomato, basil, mozzarella bread to take home with us. Yum!

Other reviewers have said that it is pricey. Well sure, it isn't as cheap as McDonald's, but I thought that for large portions of freshly made food, the prices were VERY reasonable.

Will definitely be taking friends and family here when they come out to visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree , California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but pricey .”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had breakfast here last monday . I have many friends who told me about the place . It was time for a visit . I had blueberry pancakes , side of bacon and coffee . it came to $17.71 ! I think this is a bit expensive for breakfast . The service was good and the interior was set up in one big room with great pictures on the walls .
I may try to get a smaller meal next time .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonthebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, good service, convenient location”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had brunch here while staying in Lone Pine. Good poached eggs and potatoes, with amazing wheat toast (pretty sure they make the bread on-site and it was delicious.) My husband enjoyed his chicken club sandwich, which was HUGE and fed him for another meal later in the day. They also have a nice selection of baked goods made there and everything looked pretty tempting. Service was quick and friendly.

We'll definitely stop back if we come through Lone Pine in the future!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sm823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Alabama Hills Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing