We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant aging hotel with Hollywood period charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dow Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dow Villa Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant aging hotel with Hollywood period charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good small town location with great views of surrounding valley everywhere.
Hollywood western movie nostalgia is the name of the game.
We had rooms in the old hotel. They were clean and comfortable. Staff are efficient and friendly.
Nice experience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveOutaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    301
    100
    26
    26
See reviews for
160
337
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We booked several months in advance and chose the John Wayne room in the original hotel. Unfortunately when we arrived this had been given away to someone else who apparently 'always stops there'. We were given the Roy Rodgers room. It's clean, has modern tv's and we slept fine. But.... The decor doesn't appear to have been touched since when it was built in 1923 and it's just plain gloomy and depressing. It's a big suite with a kitchen but no utilities like knifes, forks or plates so not sure what use it is. Similarly it has a dishwasher which looks like it was the very first model built (didn't know they made them in 1923 lol). The staff were fine and there isn't much choice in Lone Pine but we would have to look elsewhere next time. If the room was redecorated it could be fine. The Roy Rodgers theme is simply a couple of tatty looking pictures on the wall. Sorry but we weren't impressed

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin-NewTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Average hotel room. A/C Noise. Very clean, good TV, pool and great location for walking to restaurants, museum etc.
Lots of western movie history as the Alabama Hills was the location for hundreds of westerns and this hotel was part of that. Request rooms in the NEW area not the old hotel due to thin walls.
Take time to visit the museum two blocks away. Alabama Hills cafe for breakfast!

Room Tip: New section
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed there several times. Quiet clean rooms in the motel. Our last trip I thought I would stay in the historical hotel. be advised, it is not AAA rated for a reason. A lot of the rooms don't have a bathroom, you've got to use one down the hall. The hotel rooms are also not air conditioned, Lone Pine gets very hot in the summer.
THe Motel is nice, and sitting by the pool in the evening is very pleasant.
The last time we stayed there however, a large group of young teens/pre-teens from the neighborhood came into the pool area and were very loud and obnoxious. Two of the young girls stripped down to bra and panties to go swimming. When we approached the front desk about this, we were told that one of the mothers of these kids had actually rented a room for them and the desk said "there's nothing we can do about it". Seems that there should be some liability on the motel's part for allowing 13-14 y/o's to run wild without adult supervision.

Room Tip: No elevators if you get a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ricklt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We've stayed at the Dow Hotel in Lone Pine before, staying in the older part of the hotel for it's historic value. If you're just passing through, you might not know the history of Lone Pine but the town deserves more than just a sleepover. Lone Pine has much to offer; the Alabama Hills where more than 300 films from silent movies to Ironman were shot. The town also boasts a fine film museum, interesting geological features, soaring mountains, close proximity to Death Valley, Manzanar Internment Camp where Japanese Americans were held during World War II.

But back to the Dow; we stayed in the "newer" part of the hotel and we were not disappointed. The room was clean, cool, great bed and had both a microwave and nice refrigerator.
Don't miss the area just off the lobby, it's been redone beautifully since the last time we were there and has many items of local historical interest.

Room Tip: We had a "modern room" but rooms in the historical area are wonderful too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzkSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed one night on our way after visiting Death Valley. Lovely town and Hotel is located centrally on the main Street with peaeanty of good eating places around. Rooms were large, clean and had all facilities. Only down side was the weak WIFI.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsiromani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is the last stop on our trip down 395. We where going to stay at a Best Western Like before but we stop here first sine it was in town. This place might not have the Flash of Reno or Vegas, but it really has the Charm. A good price compared to the other AAA rated motels. No breakfast but it doesnt need that since there is a great place across the way. The staff was very nice at check-in and check-out, Billy was very helpful!!! Best Sleep of the trip and the most relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JButlerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
24.7 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitney Portal Hostel
Whitney Portal Hostel
#2 of 5 in Lone Pine
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dow Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dow Villa Motel

Property: Dow Villa Motel
Address: 310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three diamond motel located in the center of town at the base of Mt Whitney. Your stop on the way to Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dow Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dow Villa Hotel Lone Pine
Dow Hotel Lone Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing