We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly motel with very nice rooms”
Review of Dow Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dow Villa Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very friendly motel with very nice rooms”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very convenient for travellers to/from Death Valley, enough parking space around. Tiny little pool for guests. Great refurbished and clean rooms, comfortable beds. Staff helpful and efficient. Only bathroom needs a little improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    341
    107
    27
    28
See reviews for
179
386
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed there a number of times. Usually, we needed the largest rooms. Pricey?, well, sorta, not like a big resort or Las Vegas, but...it is sorta pricey compared to the rest of Lone Pine, maybe because the rest of the town does not have those big sized rooms. Otherwise, they are often maybe, maybe...maybe close, to other motels, but hey...I've stayed in several, and the Dow Villa is the best location, the best staffed, the best in town. Yes, I have used other motels, and likely still will, as the price requires, but the Dow is our favorite. There are many other stories...like it where John Wayne used to stay...but, later...centrally located, pizza across the street, pool, hot spa, go there.

Room Tip: Call way ahead...the High Sierra region has many seasonal times requiring early booking. All rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DantheMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you're planning a backpacking trip to Yosemite a nice way to ease on into the park and your trek is to spend your first night here. Take a swim in the pool, walk around town, relax in your air conditioned room, then in the morning before you hit the road grab breakfast at the Alabama Hills Cafe. We stayed here before our 4 day backpack trip to Glen Aulin. The staff is great-we even got an upgraded room which was spacious, clean, and quiet. Three of us shared a double queen room and there was plenty of room for all of us plus our gear. I've stayed both in the Hotel portion and the Motel portion. Loved them both.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copejenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I don't really understand the popularity of this property. It's nothing special at all. If I returned to the area I'd look into the chain places instead and get a free breakfast. I requested a quiet room, and instead got a room on the bottom floor, next to the stairs. Bikers were staying there, and there was a lot going on. They were nice, but the parking lot was crowded. My complaint about the non-quiet room was ignored by management.

We stayed in the "updated" section, and the room was okay. Just your standard hotel room, with a small bath and a tub that didn't drain well. The older section included a lobby that was like a living room, with the cowboy theme. It smelled old, so I don't think I would have been comfortable there.

I guess I was expecting something really charming. Didn't feel the charm.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip, as they didn't honor my request for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandyston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in the one story king bed section of the motel. The main hotel is under construction but it didn't interfere with our stay in any way. The decor in our room was first rate and seemed quite new. The pillow top bed was very comfortable and the shower was terrific! Everything was super clean. The hotel clerk (we think his name is Aaron) gave us a wonderful explanation of the local history and how to best get around the area. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: A king room in the one story section is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLC_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms here are very comfortable, spacious and clean. We stayed in the motel section and the bikers were having a party at night so noise drifted in, but I use ear plugs and it did not bother me. I'm not sure how crazy it would get in the summer. The staff was polite and helpful. The access to Mt. Whitney and Alabama Hills is quick and easy. The rate at $97 seems a bit steep, but there aren't a lot of options in this stretch of 395.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramcamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in the historical/older section, due to the lower prices and the fact that we basically just needed a place to crash for a couple nights and weren't looking for any sort of upscale accomodations.

The room was a little worse for wear, but it was very clean, the towels were suprisingly fresh smelling and soft, and we had the standard shampoo, soap, etc. The setup of the rooms was a bit weird. We booked a room with private bathoom, but the bathroom was in a middle sort of hallway between the adjacent room, and the doors going to each bedroom had two-way locks on them. We weren't sure at first if the other room would be able to get into our bathroom, but it turned out we weren't sharing after all, as the door was always locked from our side. It was a little confusing.

The employees were nice, and the lobby was really neat with a big screen TV, furniture, games, and books. Lots of western memorabilia in the main area and hallways.

The only real complaint I have was with the climate control. There was a sign at the front desk saying that the A/C was centrally controlled and that rooms didn't have individual climate control. The vent in our room was blowing frigid air until close to midnight the first night, making the room almost unbearably cold, even though we opened the windows because it was warmer outside. I would have complained, but I didn't think any of the other rooms would be different. I would suggest to the hotel management that an easy and inexpensive fix to this problem would be to replace the fixed duct covers with adjustable vents so that hotel guests can lower the amount of cold air entering the room if they wish.

Awesome location. It's probably a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel to be just about anywhere you'd want to be in Lone Pine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_ambler_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine229, Owner at Dow Villa Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear that you were disappointed in our "Historic Dow Hotel" Last year we spent over $10000. per room to restore and refurbish all 50 rooms. Our precious original Coronado furniture was refinished to as close as we could restore it to the original finish. Many new accessories were hand painted to match the original design of the Coronado furniture. Hours were spent finding the historic pictures of the valley. We think the new Pendleton bedding is a wonderful addition. For many years we have tried to find adjustable vents to fit the cooler openings. Several different solutions have been tried, and we will keep trying.
We hope that our guest will realize the effort that we have put forth to restore the "DOW" to its "Historical" importance.
Sincerely, Lynne Bunn Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
24.7 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
24.3 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#2 of 3 in Olancha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dow Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dow Villa Motel

Property: Dow Villa Motel
Address: 310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dow Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three diamond motel located in the center of town at the base of Mt Whitney. Your stop on the way to Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dow Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dow Villa Hotel Lone Pine
Dow Hotel Lone Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing