We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay off season”
Review of Dow Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dow Villa Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mt Baldy, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stay off season”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A centrally located setting. Easy access to everything you desire. Have stayed here many times, during the "Off Season." The Dow is packed all summer with many international travellers and hikers, and he movie company's can hog all the rooms at any time.

Summer rates begin April 1 and end Oct 31.... Ouch

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    353
    111
    29
    28
See reviews for
188
395
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a night while passing through town. The young man who checked us is (I believe his name was Aaron) was very helpful in finding us someplace to eat that night, and Summer was very nice and got us our extra blankets in a very timely matter. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank workinggirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, MD
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here one night in the old section to allow an early start for photographing Mt. Whitney. Many of the old Westerns were shot nearby and the stars stayed here. The common area is dark but full of comfortable overstuffed furniture and had wireless and a large rear projection TV. Had a private bath in the room, though there was a door to the adjoining room, so it might be shared some nights. There was no temperature control in the room, so people were going to the front desk to complain that it was too cold or too hot - the desk clerk said the air would be shut off at midnight, but it actually stayed on until 5:00 a.m. There was no alarm clock in the room and none available at the desk. The walls were thin enough that I could hear conversation in the room next door.

Looking back at all that, I am not sure why I liked it here, but I would go back.

Room Tip: There are two facilities here - the original and a newer section, which appears to have upgraded roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had been to this place once before and enjoyed it very much: good deal, historic place, clean and comfortable. Returned recently, and found the same great deal and service. The outside and many rooms are undergoing major renovations, and the jacuzzi is being replaced after some winter damage to pipes. I was a bit bummed after looking forward to the jacuzzi following a few days of camping and hiking... Wish we had been told about the work up front when we called to reserve - we probably would have come anyway. Not a deal breaker though, it was the weekend and the work was light. If the renovations turn out as planned it will continue to be a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the inner courtyard of the historic hotel. Might be better shielded from Hwy 395 no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nameleftblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I were travelling from San Diego to Death  Valley and had hoped to stay in the valley, but the price of accommodation in Furnace Creek Inn was too high and the Ranch and Stovepipe Wells were full...so after reading a number of reviews we chose the Dow Villa in Lone Pine, and are very glad we did! Following recommendations on this site by a previous reviewer, we booked the John Wayne Suite in the new motel part. The room was very large, very clean, and very comfortable....especially the bed which was great with soft pillows and good quality linens. There is restoration work being done to the external old hotel, so it looks very unsightly on arrival but was no problem at all! We loved that we could walk to Seasons Restaurant for dinner and The Alabama Hills Cafe for breakfast (both very good-separate reviews). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diand11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Even though we only spent a night and a morning in Lone Pine, this place was a highlight on our road trip. We made reservations by phone which they did not seem to know about once we arrived, so we had to take a room with a shared bathroom. Wasn't too happy about that, but i guess it happens. The shared bathroom wasn't very clean at times so make sure you have reservations for a room with a private bath, because this place seems to be very popular. They have wifi in the lobby and great sofa's.

What's interesting about the Dow Villa and Lone Pine is that so many westerns were filmed here. The hotel seems to be pretty proud of the fact John Wayne stayed there while he was filming in the area. They even have a film museum in Lone Pine, but unfortunately we didn't have the time to visit. Tarantino filmed parts of Django in this area and donated the "dentist wagon" to the museum. The waiter at the chinese/american restaurant down the road mentioned Tarantino and the crew had dinner there and while it was a little kitchy, we had a good time at the restaurant.

As another reviewer mentioned, Alabama Hills Cafe across the road is the place to get a huge breakfast before you're on your way to Death Valley. Don't forget to fill up your tank while you're in Lone Pine and get plenty of water at the local supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytripper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a great little place. Stayed in the newer part and the rooms are large, very clean and quite. Can't beat the view from the front of the motel of the eastern Sierra's. While we were there we went to the Lone Pine film museum. Allot and I mean a lot of films old and new were shot around here. Take a drive out to the Alabama Hills and you'll see were they shot parts of Iron Man, Charge of the Light Brigade and so on. For breakfast go to Alabama Hills Cafe what a great place. Also take a drive up the Whitney Portal what a view.

Cheers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hustoncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
681 reviews
24.7 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
82 reviews
24.3 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#3 of 3 in Olancha
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dow Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dow Villa Motel

Property: Dow Villa Motel
Address: 310 S Main, P.O. Box 205, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dow Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three diamond motel located in the center of town at the base of Mt Whitney. Your stop on the way to Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dow Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dow Villa Hotel Lone Pine
Dow Hotel Lone Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing