We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum! Good food~good portions” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Whitney Restaurant

Mt. Whitney Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Lone Pine
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
nevada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Yum! Good food~good portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a tasty breakfast that varied from eggs to french toast to bisquits and gravy. Everyone was happy. Portions were ample.... no need for lunch that day! They were busy, and I think had only one server.... but she seemed to keep up alright. Prices seemed about right. The atmosphere was typical coffee shop. The tasty food makes it worth a breakfast stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank apeakhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    131
    80
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Small Town Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have eaten at the Mt. Whitney Restaurant several times, and while it is not a luxury restaurant (nor am I inclined to visit one), the service has always been good, the food prepared as expected, and is more like back home and mom's cooking. Always enjoy looking at the photos of old western stars who frequented the Lone Pine area during the heyday of the black and white westerns. Beats fast food any day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RumblingCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
141 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Try it for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Good for eggs. We stopped in for a coffee and stayed for breakfast. Just your typical breakfast of eggs and toast. Nothing to complain or rave about.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best food my wife had in over a week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We wandered into Lone Pine after touring Death Valley and leaving Las Vegas, my wife had spent over a week in Vegas staying at the Venetian. My wife had the open roast beef sandwich with gravy and mashed potatoes - her review "This is the best food I had in over a week" I had a burger with onion rings - it was also great. But the homemade blueberry pie warmed and served with ice cream was my favorite part of the meal. Quaint little western restaurant with a beautiful view of Mt. Whitney from parking lot. Great stop when in Lone Pine. Restaurant was recommended by our hotel and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Pine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hungry for fresh roasted turkey?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love the turkey melts, turkey club and turkey chef salad because the turkey is fresh roasted every day and delicious. Try the posole soup when it is the special! I really love the onion rings and the fries are always good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Whitney Restaurant also viewed

Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 
Lone Pine, California Desert
Lone Pine, California Desert
 

Been to Mt. Whitney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing